Palmer and Polamalu named All-Americans

USC seniors Carson Palmer and Troy Polamalu were named to the 2002 Football Writers Association of America All-American team.

The FWAA team has been published since 1944 and is a good indicator for the Trojan stars in their pursuit of the Heiman and Thorpe Awards.  Polamalu was one of two repeat winners named to the team (LB E.J. Henderson from Maryland was the other).

2002 FWAA All-American team


  • QB Carson Palmer, Southern California
  • RB Larry Johnson, Penn State
  • RB Willis McGahee, Miami, Fla.
  • TE Dallas Clark, Iowa
  • WR Reggie Williams, Washington
  • WR Charles Rogers, Michigan State
  • OL Jordan Gross, Utah
  • OL Shawn Andrews, Arkansas
  • OL Brett Romberg, Miami, Fla.
  • OL Bruce Nelson, Iowa
  • OL Derrick Dockery, Texas
  • K Nate Kaeding, Iowa
  • KR Derek Abney, Kentucky


  • DL Terrell Suggs, Arizona State
  • DL Rien Long, Washington State
  • DL David Pollack, Georgia
  • DL Michael Haynes, Penn State
  • LB E. J. Henderson, Maryland
  • LB Matt Wilhelm, Ohio State
  • LB Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma
  • DB Terence Newman, Kansas State
  • DB Shane Walton, Notre Dame
  • DB Troy Polamalu, Southern California
  • DB Mike Doss, Ohio State
  • P Andy Groom, Ohio State Top Stories