OK State, Troy, and Belmont in Vandy Regional

The NCAA announced the 64-team field for the NCAA Tournament today tabbing Vanderbilt the No. 6 national seed.

The Commodores will welcome three teams to the Nashville regional with Oklahoma State the two seed, Troy the three seed and Belmont the four seed. Vanderbilt and Belmont will play at 7 p.m. on Friday night with Oklahoma State and Troy kicking off the tournament at 2 p.m.
The Commodores finished the regular season as tri-champions of the Southeastern conference along with Florida and South Carolina and lost in the championship game of the SEC Tournament to Florida on Sunday. The Dores set a school record with nine losses in the regular season, matched the school record with 22 SEC wins and 44 regular season wins are the second-most in Vanderbilt history. With a national seed Vanderbilt is assured of playing at Hawkins Field should the team advance to Super Regionals next weekend.
Oklahoma State finished the season 35-23 overall and 14-12 in Big 12 play. The Cowboys are led by Head Coach Frank Anderson and four All-Big 12 selections in Zach Johnson (Jr., INF), Dane Phillips (So., DH), Jared Womack, (Jr., OF/C), Gabe Weidenaar (Jr., OF/RHP). This will be the Cowboys sixth trip to the postseason under Anderson in eight years.
Troy enters the NCAA Tournament 42-17 and the Sun Belt regular season champs after going 21-9 in league play. Head Coach Bobby Pearce has led the Trojans to three straight regular season league titles and three straight NCAA appearances. The Trojans dominated the Sun Belt's postseason awards with Pearce getting the nod for Coach of the Year, Adam Bryant (Sr., IF) Player of the Year and Tyler Ray (Jr., RHP) Pitcher of the Year.
The Belmont Bruins will make the cross-town trip to Hawkins Field for the school's first-ever appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The Bruins and Head Coach Dale Jarvis enter the postseason on a roll after winning four straight games to claim the A-Sun Tournament in Nashville last weekend. Derek Hamblen (Sr., IF/OF) leads the offense and was named the A-Sun Tournament MVP. Matt Hamann (Jr., RHP) boasts a 9-1 record to lead the pitchers.
For regional ticket information visit vucommodores.com or call 615.322.GOLD. All fans that have already made reservations the method of payment will be processed tomorrow and those tickets will be available beginning Tuesday at 8:30 a.m.
#1 seed Vanderbilt Commodores
: Nashville, Tenn.
Conference: Southeastern Conference
Head Coach: Tim Corbin
2011 Record: 47-10, 25-9 in SEC play (co-regular season champs)
#2 seed Oklahoma State Cowboys
: Stillwater, Okla.
Conference: Big 12 Conference
Head Coach: Frank Anderson
2011 Record: 35-23, 14-12 in Big 12 play
2011 vs. Vanderbilt: 0-0
More on the Cowboys: Anderson has now guided the Cowboys to six NCAA Regional Appearances in eight years. Oklahoma State has twice advanced to the NCAA Super Regionals under Anderson, who came to Stillwater after a successful tenure as Texas' pitching coach. He has coached 14 All-Americans and more than 50 All-Big 12 performers. Johnson, a junior college transfer, ranked among the Big 12 leaders in numerous batting categories and was named the conference's Newcomer of the Year. The Cowboys have made 19 all-time appearances in the College World Series, winning the crown in 1959. At one point during the season, the Cowboys were 26-8 overall, but fell out of contention in the Big 12 with a 4-7 league finish.
All-Big 12: Zach Johnson (Jr., INF), Dane Phillips (So., DH), Jared Womack, (Jr., OF/C), Gabe Weidenaar (Jr., OF/RHP)
Top Hitters: Z. Johnson .358 avg., 78 hits, 21 doubles, 13 HRs, 62 RBIs; D. Phillips .342 avg., 81 hits, 15 doubles, 4 HRs, 32 RBIs; Mark Ginther (Jr., INF) .297 avg., 68 hits, 17 doubles, 10 HRs; J. Womack .286 avg., 8 HRs, 45 RBIs.
Top Pitchers: Mike Strong (Sr., LHP) 5-1, 3.61 ERA, 70 Ks, 25 BBs; Brad Propst (Sr., RHP) 7-5, 2.66 ERA, 58 Ks; Andrew Heaney (So., LHP) , 7-4, 3.88 ERA, 51 Ks, G. Weidenaar 0-0, 0.43 ERA, 4 saves.
#3 seed Troy Trojans
: Troy, Ala.
Conference: Sun Belt Conference
Head Coach: Bobby Pearce
2011 Record: 42-17, 21-9 in Sun Belt play (regular season champs)
2011 vs. Vanderbilt: 0-0
More on the Trojans: The nationally ranked Trojans continued their success under head coach Bobby Pearce, earning their third regular season conference title and third NCAA Regional appearance during Pearce's nine-year tenure. Troy joins Florida International and Arkansas-Little Rock as NCAA participants from the Sun Belt Conference. Pearce was named the Sun Belt Coach of the Year while infielder Adam Bryant and pitcher Tyler Ray swept Sun Belt Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year honors, respectively. Bryant is Troy's all-time leader in hits, runs, triple and total bases, and topped the Sun Belt this year with 84 hits, 56 runs and 63 RBIs. Ray's 11 victories on the season ranks among the NCAA leaders and is the second most in team history. Ray is a semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy, given to college baseball's top player.
All-Sun Belt Tourney: Adam Bryant (Sr., INF) and Tyler Hannah (Jr., INF).
Top Hitters: Hannah .369 avg., 82 hits, 60 runs, 27 doubles, 7 HRs, 62 RBIs; Bryant .339 avg., 87 hits, 25 doubles, 11 HRs, 66 RBIs; Todd McRae (Sr., C) .316 avg., 56 hits, 34 RBIs; T.J. Rivera (Sr., INF) .298 avg., 71 hits, 34 RBIs.
Top Pitchers: Tyler Ray (Jr., RHP) 11-0, 2.39 ERA, 64 Ks, 15 BB; Jimmy Hodgskin (Fr., LHP) 3-6, 4.56 ERA, 58 Ks; Drew Hull (Sr., RHP) 4-0, 2.04 ERA, 36 Ks
#4 seed Belmont Bruins
: Nashville
Conference: Atlantic Sun Conference
Head Coach: Dale Jarvis
2011 Record: 36-24
2011 vs. Vanderbilt: 0-1; 6-2 loss on Feb. 23
More on the Bruins: Belmont is making its first-ever appearance in the NCAA Baseball Tournament, the result of the team's first Atlantic Sun tournament title. After starting the season slowly and qualifying as the sixth seed to the A-Sun tournament, the Bruins went on a roll with four consecutive wins to take the trophy. The Bruins finished year on 19-7 streak.
All-A-Sun: Derek Hamblen (Sr., INF/OF) was the A-Sun tourney MVP. Other all-tourney selections were sophomore Chase Brookshire (So., LHP), Matt Zeblo (Sr., C) and Zac Mitchell (Jr., INF).
Top Hitters: Nate Woods (Sr., OF) .347 avg., 12 HRs, 61 RBIs; Dylan Craig (Jr, OF) .324 avg., 77 hits, 35 RBIs; Hamblen .322 avg., 11 HRs, 78 runs, 36 RBIs; Tim Egerton (Sr., OF/RHP) .287 avg., 12 HRs, 53 RBIs.
Top Pitchers: Matt Hamann (Jr., RHP) 9-1, 3.33 ERA; Brookshire (5-4, 3.52 ERA, 66 Ks); Woods 6-5, 34 Ks)

VandyMania.com Top Stories