Tony Kemp SEC POY; Corbin gets COY

SEC officials announced today that Vanderbilt's Tony Kemp has been selected as the Southeastern Conference's Player of the Year. Kemp's coach, Tim Corbin, has been selected as the conference's Coach of the Year. In addition to Kemp and Corbin, six other Commodore players were also honored by the SEC.

Tony Kemp's award was well deserved. Simply put, when Kemp played well Vanderbilt usually won. Vandy's star second baseman finished with a league leading .408 batting average. He also led the conference in on base percentage (.490), runs (58) and stolen bases (27). Kemp often dazzled fans with his defensive heroics some of which became YouTube sensations.

Head coach Tim Corbin has turned Vanderbilt baseball around from being the laughingstock of the SEC. His hard work recruiting and ability to attract quality assistants along with his sound game management have been vital to Vanderbilt's baseball renaissance. Corbin's 2013 Vanderbilt team broke the SEC record for regular season victory (26) and ran away with the SEC regular season title. The Vanderbilt baseball program has quadrupled its number of NCAA baseball appearances under Corbin and played in its first ever College World Series under Corbin in 2011.

Right fielder Mike Yastrzemski was named first team All-SEC along with Kemp. Yaz amazingly led the league in batting (.407) in CONFERENCE games which is quite an accomplishment.

Pitcher Tyler Beede and outfielder Connor Harrell made the second team all-conference squad. Harrell led Vandy in home runs (11) and RBIs (64) while Beede (2.10 ERA) was a nightmare to opposing teams on Saturday's winning 14 games against no losses. Beede, interestingly, excelled with runners on base and regularly escaped these situations unblemished.

Three Commodores made the league All-Freshman team. Third baseman Xavier Turner, designated hitter Zander Wiel and relief pitcher Carson Fulmer all made important contributions to the success of the 2013 Vanderbilt baseball team.

SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt 



SEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Sam Frost, Mississippi State

SEC?COACH?OF?THE?YEAR - Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt           


FIRST TEAM                         

1B - Mason Katz, LSU       

2B - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt         

3B - Christian Ibarra, LSU

SS - Alex Bregman, LSU

C - Stuart Turner, Ole Miss            

OF - Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State 

OF?- Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt            

OF - Raph Rhymes, LSU

DH/UTL - Keaton Steele, Missouri

               A.J. Reed, Kentucky 

P - Ryne Stanek, Arkansas

P - Aaron Nola, LSU                          

RP - Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State 


SECOND TEAM                                   

1B - Garrett Cooper, Auburn

2B - Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State

       JaCoby Jones, LSU 

3B - Curt Powell, Georgia

       Andrew Mistone, Ole Miss

SS - Mikey Reynolds, Texas A&M

      Mikey White, Alabama

C - Grayson Greiner, South Carolina

OF - Connor Harrell, Vanderbilt

OF - Brian Anderson, Arkansas

OF - Krey Bratsen, Texas A&M

DH/UTL - Daniel Mengden, Texas A&M

P - Tyler Beede, Vanderbilt          

P - Bobby Wahl, Ole Miss

RP - Tyler Webb, South Carolina


ALL FRESHMAN TEAM                                     

1B - Josh Lester, Missouri              

2B - Kyle Overstreet, Alabama

3B - Xavier Turner, Vanderbilt

SS - Alex Bregman, LSU 

C - Greg Fettes, Kentucky  

OF -Kyle Barrett, Kentucky           

OF?- Vincent Jackson, Tennessee

OF - Harrison Bader, Florida

DH/UTL - Zander Wiel, Vanderbilt             

P - Jack Wynkoop, South Carolina             

P - Sean McLaughlin, Georgia

RP - Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

       Ray Castillo, Alabama


ALL DEFENSIVE TEAM                     

P - Daniel Mengden, Texas A&M

1B - Mason Katz, LSU; Cole Lankford, Texas A&M             

2B - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt

SS - Adam Frazier, Mississippi State

3B - Christian Ibarra, LSU

C - Stuart Turner, Ole Miss            

OF - Austin Cousino, Kentucky 

OF - Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt            

OF?- Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State

Commodores Daily Top Stories