Dores place two on the All-SEC Freshmen Team

Vanderbilt's regular season finished this past Sunday, which means SEC awards are next before we get started with the 2017 SEC Women's Basketball Tournament, beginning tomorrow in Greenville. The Commodores had their struggles this year but were able to receive big contributions from two girls who shined throughout their freshmen seasons.

Kayla Overbeck and Erin Whalen were two of the top Commodores on the 2016-2017 team and today they were honored by the SEC.

Both Overbeck and Whalen were named to the All-SEC Freshmen team after performing well during their debut season's, giving the Commodores two bright stars for the future. 

Vanderbilt finished the regular season at 14-15 overall with an SEC record of 4-12. It was underwhelming year under Coach White's debut season in Nashville but there was a few positive things that occurred. The development of the freshman class, including the stellar play of Overbeck and Whalen, could give the Dores some blocks to build the future upon. 

Coming from California, Overbeck immediately made her presence known as a bruising, smart and skilled post player who could score around the basket or step out and shoot from mid-range. The soft touch lefty is an all effort type of player who gives her all on every single play. Overbeck has the makings of a future Commodores captain. Overbeck averaged 9.5 ppg while leading all freshmen in rebounding at 7.2 per game. 

Whalen was a highly recruited prospect coming out of North Carolina that needed some time to get adjusted to the college game but once she did, the Tar Heel state shooter started to come on by showing off her deep range and hustle attitude. Whalen is an outstanding shooter overall who has size and the skill set to play within Coach White's system. More time in weight room and on the basketball court will serve Whalen well as she could develop into the Commodores eventual leading scorer. Whalen is averaging 9.3 ppg while shooting 41.7% from three point range. 

All-SEC 2017

Player of the Year:  A'Ja Wilson - South Carolina

Coach of the Year: Robin Pingeton - Missouri

Defensive Player of the Year: Raigyne Moncrief - LSU

Co-Freshman of the Year: Delicia Washington - Florida, Amber Smith - Missouri

6th Woman of the Year: Tearia McCowan - Mississippi State

Scholar Athlete of the Year: Katie Frerking - Auburn

1st Team

- Evelyn Akhator - Kentucky

- Alaina Coates - South Carolina

- Sophie Cunningham - Missouri

- Diamond DeShields - Tennessee

- Makayla Epps - Kentucky

- Victoria Vivians - Mississippi State

- Ronnie Williams - Florida

2nd Team

- Katie Frerking - Auburn

- Khaalia Hillsman - Texas A&M

- Curtyce Knox - Texas A&M

- Raigyne Moncrief - LSU

- Jamie Nared - Tennessee

- Pachis Roberts - Georgia

- Mercedes Russell - Tennessee

- Morgan William - Mississippi State

- Danni Williams - Texas A&M

Freshmen Team

- Tyasha Harris - South Carolina

- Ashley Knight - Alabama

- Jordan Lewis - Alabama

- Jailyn Mason - Arkansas

- Kayla Overbeck - Vanderbilt

- Amber Smith - Missouri

- Delicia Washington - Florida

- Erin Whalen - Vanderbilt

Commodores Daily Top Stories