Lew Thomas named 2001 MVP

Lew Thomas received the Most Valuable Player award at Vanderbilt's football banquet Friday night.

Senior running back Lew Thomas was named by the coaching staff as Vanderbilt's Most Valuable Player at the team's 2001 football banquet last Friday.

Thomas played in only 7 games before a broken foot ended his season in the game against Duke.  On the season Thomas gained 675 yards rushing on 6.4 yards per carry and added another 80 yards receiving.

Junior wide receiver Dan Stricker received the award for Outstanding Offensive Player; Senior linebacker Antuian Bradford was named Outstanding Defensive Player; and sophomore defensive back Mike Martin was named Outstanding Special Teams Player.

The Chancellor's Award, which recognizes outstanding achievement on the field and in the classroom, went to senior quarterback Greg Zolman.  The Wade-Looney Award, given for achievement and leadership, went to senior linebacker Nate Morrow.

The Kyle Gullahorn Award, given for leadership qualities and contributions as a teammate, was presented to senior defensive back Harold Lercius and junior running back Juan Rojas.

Also recognized at the banquet were Vanderbilt's four captains for the 2001 season: Bradford, Morrow, Stricker and junior center Jamie Byrum.

VandyMania.com Top Stories