Baseball: 16 named to Academic Honor Roll

A league-high and team-record 16 Vanderbilt Commodores were selected to the Southeastern Conference Baseball Academic Honor Roll announced today by the league office.

The award is based on grades from the 2000-2001 academic calendar.

Current players earning accolades include Jeff Little (Molecular Biology), Chris Maultsby (Human and Organizational Development), John Kaye (History), Sean Luellwitz (Human and Organizational Development), Karl Nonemaker (Human and Organizational Development), John Prothro (Communication Studies), Jay Smith (Economics) and Scott Vanderhoff (Human and Organizational Development).

Former players receiving recognition include Rob Bedwell (Human and Organizational Development), Adam Blue (Human and Organizational Development), Taylor Childress (Human and Organizational Development), Kenneth Dyer (Economics), Ulises Cabrera (Human and Organizational Development), Kyle Flubacker (Human and Organizational Development), Kevin Geshke (Mathematics) and Brooks Rutledge (Art History).

Twelve Commodores have garnered the award multiple times. Kevin Geshke is a four-time award winner. Flubacker, Little, Luellwitz, Nonemaker and Vanderhoff are three-time honorees. Bedwell, Cabrera, Dyer, Prothro, Rutledge and Smith are two-time honorees.

The previous record for Commodores named to the list was 12 set last season.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must 1) have a 3.0 grade point average for either the past year (two semesters or three quarters) or for his career; 2) be a sophomore or higher in academic classification; and 3) have 24 semesters or 26 quarter hours countable toward the degree.

Commodores Daily Top Stories