Scouting Michigan: Program history/ coaching's Erik Werling provides this detailed 4-part breakdown of the Michigan Wolverines. Vanderbilt opens the 2006 season at Michigan on Saturday.

Michigan History:

Michigan history has been full of great coaches such as Fielding Yost, Fritz Crisler, Bo Schembechler, Gary Moeller and Lloyd Carr. Michigan started playing football in 1879 and will be the 128th year of football at Michigan in 2006. Michigan has had the three Heisman Trophy winners in Tom Harmon - 1940, Desmond Howard - 1991 and Charles Woodson - 1997.

Michigan has won 11 National Championships: 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1918, 1923, 1932, 1933, 1947, 1948, 1997 ... as well as 42 Big Ten Titles: 1898, 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1906, 1918, 1922, 1923, 1925, 1926, 1930, 1931, 1932, 1933, 1943, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1964, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1982, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2004.

Michigan Stadium also known as The Big House. One of the country's most classic, widely recognized sporting facilities, Michigan Stadium has come to symbolize the pride, tradition and excellence of the University of Michigan. There is truly no place likes it on a fall Saturday afternoon. Michigan Stadium owns the NCAA record crowd of 112,118 fans (in 2003, the 100th Ohio State and Michigan Michigan game, which U-M won 35-21). Michigan Stadium is the only stadium in college football with no advertising inside. Michigan has a stadium renovation in-place, commencing after the 2007 season and to be completed for the 2010 season. included will be two multi-story structures on both the east and west sides of the stadium. Approximately 83 suites and 3,200 club seats will be added in total, plus a new press box, and official capacity at the Big House will grow to 108,000. The expected cost of $226 million will be funded  primarily by the revenues generated by the new seating.

The 2006 Michigan Program:
Vanderbilt and Michigan have met ten times previously, the first in 1905 and most recently in 1969 (9-0-1). Overall Michigan leads the series against this Big Ten/SEC Football match-up. For Michigan fans it will be interesting to see this game just for all the changes that have taken place in the program since last year. After 2005's 7-5 disappointing season, there have been numerous changes on the Michigan staff, including new defensive and offensive coordinators along with a new linebackers and cornerbacks coach (an additional fourth coach for the defense).

Michigan is looking to bounce back in a big way. Offensive leaders include Chad Henne (Jr. - QB), Mike Hart (Jr. - RB, back from injury), Steve Breaston (5th - WR
, back from injury), Jake Long (R-Jr. OT, back from injury) and Mario Manningham (So - WR). On defense Alan Branch, (Jr. - DT), LaMarr Woodley (Sr. -DE), David Harris (5th - LB), and Leon Hall (Sr. - CB) lead the way. 
Michigan Head Coach:
Lloyd Carr is in his 12th season as head coach and has been a member of the Wolverine football program for 26 years, serving first as an assistant coach to Bo Schembechler and Gary Moeller.

Carr is fourth among active Division I-A football coaches with a .766 winning percentage, and has led the Wolverines to five 10-win seasons during his tenure (1997-99 and 2002-03). Carr is the eighth coach in Big Ten history and the third in Michigan history, joining Fielding H. Yost and Schembechler, to claim five or more Big Ten Conference titles (1997, 1998, 2000, 2003 and 2004), with 1997 bringing a National Championship back to Ann Arbor.

Michigan Defense Coaches:
After going many years with three defensive coaches, for this season the Wolverines have added a fourth. Defensive coordinator Ron English is in his fourth season with the Michigan football program and his first as coordinator. English is also coaching the safeties after spending his initial three seasons coaching both the safeties and cornerbacks.
-- Ron Lee is in his first season as an assistant coach with the Michigan football program and will coach the cornerbacks. Lee joined the U-M staff after spending three years as the defensive backs coach at the University of Wisconsin.
-- Steve Stripling is in his second season as the defensive line coach for the Wolverines. He came to Ann Arbor after spending two seasons mentoring the defensive line at conference rival Michigan State.

-- Steve Szabo is in his first season with the Michigan football program and is responsible for the linebackers. Szabo was an assistant coach with the Buffalo Bills the past two seasons (2004-05) and replaces Jim Herrmann, who was also the previously defensive coordinator until leaving for the New York Jets.

Michigan Offense Coaches:
Mike DeBord is in his 11th season with the Michigan football program overall -- he was a U-M assistant from 1991-99, then served as Head Coach at Central Michigan from 2000-2003. Having been the Wolverines' offensive coordinator before heading to for CMU, Debord returns to the role of coordinator in 2006 and will also coach the tight ends after spending the previous two seasons coordinating Michigan's special teams and recruiting efforts.
-- Erik Campbell is in his 12th season as a member of the Michigan football staff. He is responsible for the wide receiving corps and also works with the team's punt returners.

-- The longest tenured coach on the Michigan staff, Fred Jackson is in his 15th season as an assistant coach with the Wolverines. He is the team's running backs mentor and also works with the kickoff returners.

-- Scot Loeffler is in his fifth year as an assistant coach with the Michigan football program. Loeffler is responsible for coaching the quarterbacks.

-- Andy Moeller is in his seventh season with the Michigan football program. He is in his fifth year coaching the offensive line after serving as the tackles and tight ends coach his first two seasons. Top Stories