Baseball: Vanderbilt won't host

The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 64th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship and Vanderbilt wasn't among them.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records are as follows: Arizona State (47-8), Tempe, Ariz.; Arkansas (40-18), Fayetteville, Ark.; Auburn (40-19), Auburn, Ala.; Cal State Fullerton (40-15 through Saturday, May 29), Fullerton, Calif.; Coastal Carolina (51-7), Conway, S.C.; Connecticut (47-14), Storrs, Conn.; Florida (42-15), Gainesville, Fla.; Georgia Tech (45-13), Atlanta; Louisville (48-12), Louisville, Ky.; Miami (Florida) (40-17), Coral Gables, Fla.; Oklahoma (44-15), Norman, Okla.; South Carolina (43-15), Columbia, S.C.; Texas (46-11), Austin, Texas; TCU (46-11), Fort Worth, Texas; UCLA (42-13), Los Angeles; Virginia (47-11), Charlottesville, Va.

Vanderbilt can still earn a No. 1 seed. Seedings will be announced tomorrow, May 31, at 12:30 p.m. during a live, half-hour program on ESPNHD. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men's College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Seedings by Conference

Southeastern 4 (Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, South Carolina)

Atlantic Coast 3 [Georgia Tech, Miami (Florida), Virginia]

Big East 2 (Connecticut, Louisville)

Big 12 2 (Oklahoma, Texas)

Pacific-10 2 (Arizona State, UCLA)

Big South 1 (Coastal Carolina)

Big West 1 (Cal State Fullerton)

Mountain West 1 (TCU)

Post your thoughts on Vanderbilt baseball at our VU baseball FORUM. Top Stories