Barclay Named ACC POY

Greensboro, N.C. -- Wake Forest senior running back Chris Barclay was selected as the Atlantic Coast Conference's Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year, the league announced Wednesday. Barclay is the fourth Wake Forest player ever to win the award, the first since 1979.

Barclay, a native of Louisville, Ky., carried 218 times for 1,127 yards and 10 touchdown in 2005. He also added 381 receiving and return yards. Barclay led the ACC in rushing yards (1,127), rushing attempts (218) and all-purpose yards (1,508).

Barclay had two 200-yard rushing days (East Carolina and Duke) and six 100-yard rushing games overall (Clemson, Florida State, NC State and Miami). The Deacons faced six rushing defenses that ranked in the top 35 nationally this year and Barclay rushed for 100 yards against four of them and 91 yards against another.

In Wake Forest's three games against nationally-ranked opponents -- No. 3 Miami, No. 5 Florida State and No. 14 Boston College -- Barclay totaled 321 yards and three touchdowns.

He etched his name into the Wake Forest, ACC and NCAA record books. Barclay leaves Wake Forest as the team's all-time leader in seven major categories including yards (4,032), scoring (240 points), rushing touchdowns (40), total touchdowns (40), all-purpose yards (4,930), 200-yard rushing games (3) and 1,000-yard rushing seasons (3). His four touchdown performance against East Carolina this season, tied a school record.

Barclay became only the player in ACC history to lead the league in rushing during the regular season in three straight years. He ended his career as the ACC's fifth-leading rusher of all-time, seventh in rushing touchdowns and ninth in total touchdowns. Barclay accomplished rare feats as only one player in ACC history had more 200 rushing yard games (Thomas Jones) and only one player had more 1,000 rushing yard seasons (Amos Lawrence).

Barclay is one of only three players in ACC history, joining Ted Brown and Robert Lavette, in the 4,000-yard, 40-touchdown club. Only 32 players in the history of college football have accomplished that feat. Eight of those were Heisman Trophy winners.

Demon Deacon Digest Top Stories