Elite Camp on Friday will be a Cougar reunion

IT'S GOING TO be a Cougar reunion this Friday on Mercer Island when college coaches put more than 400 high school players from around the region through drills at the Northwest Elite Football Camp. Camp director Cole Morgan will have five of his old Cougar teammates helping him run what has become a must-event for college programs in the West.

The old Cougs who will be helping direct the show will be Kenny Alfred, Tony Thompson, Gary Rogers and Greg Prator.

As for the college coaches who will be there, that list includes the camp's founder and legendary WSU quatervack -- and now Idaho's offensive coordinator -- Jason Gesser, as well as WSU defensive coordinator Mike Breske and assistant coaches Jeff Choate, Eric Russell and Eric Morris.

They will not be alone, as coaches from Washington, Oregon State, Arizona State, Boise State, Nevada and many more schools also will there offering instruction to the campers.

Six of the nine position MVPs at last year's camp wound up accepting scholarship offers from schools who had coaches on hand for the camp, with Wyoming nabbing four of them: Uso Olive, Jayshawn Jordan, Trent Sewell and D.J. May.

One of last year's "rising star" award recipients was Cody O'Connell. The 6-8, 350-pound o-lineman from Wenatchee recently verballed to WSU.

For more information on the Northwest Elite Camp, click to Northwest Elite Sports

Campers who are scheduled to attend, as reported by Scout'com's Chris Fetters, include:
ATH Isaac Dotson - Newport (Bellevue)
LB Peyton Pelluer - Skyline
ATH Tere Calloway - Seattle Prep
DB Cole Karstetter - Ferris (Spokane, 2014)
RB Jake Gall - Cle Elum
OL Jarred Sonneborn - Gonzaga Prep
OL Austin Kanouse - South Kitsap
RB Kai Van Sickle - Capital (Olympia)
LB Mikey Tupou - Inglemoor
QB Billy Green - King's
DB Jimmie Davis - Kentridge
ATH Ryan Turman - Interlake
WR Isaiah Brandt-Sims - Wenatchee (2014)
QB Trey Reynolds - Eastside Catholic
ATH Andrew Shadle - Bremerton
LB Micah Breland - Foster
ATH Kahlil Dawson - Graham Kapowsin
ATH Reuben Mwehla - Bellevue
ATH Ari Morales - Bellevue
OL Dayne Herron - Oak Harbor
LB Michael Cummings - Meadowdale
ATH Nic Sblendorio - Skyline
OL Chris Miedema - Everett
WR Forrest Russell - Skyview (Vancouver)
WR Trevor Barney - Skyline
DL Cody Moorhead - Hazen
ATH Cole Madison - Kennedy (Burien)
WR/DB Calvin Chandler - Bellarmine Prep (Tacoma)
RB/ATH Chico McClatcher - Federal Way (2015)

Cougfan Top Stories