WSU football: And then there were three

SYSTEM OFFENSE, SHMYSTEM OFFENSE -- maybe they just develop damned fine college football wideouts at Washington State. With senior Vince Mayle and sophomore River Cracraft added after Week Six, Washington State is only one of only two teams in all of college football with three wide receivers on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

The Cougs began the season with zero wideouts on the Biletnikoff watch list.

Cracraft and Mayle were added Tuesday, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation said. Senior wide receiver Isiah Myers was added in early September.

Mayle enters Week Seven third in the country with 51 receptions, fourth nationally with 703 receiving yards and tied for third in the Pac-12 Conference with six touchdown catches. He exploded for a WSU single-game record 263 receiving yards on 11 catches, including a 90-yard touchdown against Cal this past Saturday.

He ranks sixth nationally with 8.5 receptions-per-game and owns three 100-yard games this season. Mayle had a career-high 12 receptions against Rutgers and posted 120 yards and two touchdowns at Utah. He’s also been a productive special teamer with multiple tackles.

Cracraft begins the second half of the 2014 season fourth in the Pac-12 Conference with 43 receptions, No. 11 nationally with 576 receiving yards and tied for third in the conference with six touchdown catches. He is coming off a career-best performance against Cal, catching 11 passes for 172 yards and three touchdowns, all career highs.

The sophomore and Trabuco Canyon, Calif. native ranks fifth nationally in receptions-per-game with 8.6 and owns three 100-yard games this season. He has been the most productive receiver on third down for the Cougs, and had six chain movers on third down (eight in all) in the win over Utah.

The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the nation's outstanding college football receiver (the award defines receiver as any player who catches a pass regardless of position). The online Fan Vote on the Biletnikoff Award website went live on Oct. 1. The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote out of appx. 120 to determine semi-finalists (10), finalists (three), and the winner. The 2014 winner will be presented live on December 11.

Cougfan Top Stories