WSU's Marks named Biletnikoff semifinalist

WASHINGTON STATE WIDE RECEIVER Gabe Marks is having an incredible 2015 campaign. Marks, who redshirted last season, has exploded onto the national scene this fall, especially following his game-winning touchdown catch Saturday at UCLA. On Tuesday morning, the junior received some big news, making the semifinals for the Biletnikoff Award, an honor given each year to the nation's top pass catcher.

Marks is one of 10 finalists to make the semifinal round, the Biletnikoff Award announced in a press release.

Marks, a Venice, Calif., native, has been downright sensational through 10 games this season, hauling in 81 receptions for 957 yards and 13 touchdowns. His 81 grabs rank fourth in the country and his 13 touchdowns has him tied with Western Kentucky's Taywan Taylor for No. 4 nationally.

The 6-0, 190-pound fourth-year junior ranks No. 1 in the Pac-12 in touchdowns and receptions, and is No. 2 in yards behind USC's JuJu Smith-Schuster, who has 1,160.

In WSU's 31-27 victory over UCLA on Saturday, Marks caught 12 passes for 92 yards and two touchdowns, none bigger than his 21-yard touchdown catch with three seconds left from Luke Falk to help the Cougars pull out the stunning upset. 

“I'm excited to get back on the field too and be considered one of the top wide receivers in the country,” Marks told prior to the start of the 2015 campaign. "I’m ready to focus on helping this team getting back to its winning ways. We want to get back on the map and get ourselves back to a bowl game."

Joining Marks on the Biletnikoff semifinals list: Corey Coleman (Baylor), Josh Doctson (TCU), William Fuller (Notre Dame), Roger Lewis (Bowling Green State), Tajae Sharpe (UMass), Sterling Shepard (Oklahoma), JuJu Smith-Schuster (USC), Tayway Taylor (Eastern Kentucky), Laquon Treadwill (Ole Miss).

Per the press release, fans can now vote for three receivers to advance to the final round.  Fan voting for the three semifinalists will be open through Nov. 22.

"The top 3 aggregate fan votes for receiver will each count as the equivalent of one national selection committee vote for each of those three receivers for finalists," the press release stated. "Following the finalists’ selection, the subsequent top single aggregate fan vote for receiver will count as the equivalent of one national selection committee vote in selecting the winner," reads the release.

WSU fans can vote for Marks here

Cougfan Top Stories