Mike Leach named Pac-12 Coach of the Year with Shaw

MIKE LEACH WAS announced as co-Pac-12 Coach of the Year by the conference on Tuesday evening. Leach shared the award with Stanford's David Shaw. Leach has led the Cougs to an 8-4 record and a 6-3 conference mark, with the bowl game yet to come.

Among the crimson highlights this season under Leach were road wins at Oregon, Arizona and UCLA and a sweep over the Arizona and Oregon schools.

It is the seventh time a WSU coach has won the honor since 1981 (Bill Doba, Mike Price [2], Dennis Erickson, Jim Walden [2]).

Leach's Air Raid leads the nation this season in passing offense at 397.0 yards per game, and also in red zone offense, converting on 94.3 percent of their scoring opportunities inside the 20-yard line.

Leach is also a semifinalist for the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year award, to be announced Dec. 21. Leach won the award in 1998 while at Texas Tech. That season he also wont the Woody Hayes Award, Howie Long/Fieldturf National Coach of the Year and Big 12 Coach of the Year.

Leach and the Cougs are awaiting a bowl bid, with the selection expected to be officially announced Sunday on ESPN's selection show, which begins at 9:30 a.m.

Cougfan Top Stories