Two Cougs on Maxwell preseason watch list

LUKE FALK AND GABE MARKS were both named to the Maxwell Award watch list on Tuesday. The award is presented to the best college football player in the nation.

Falk and Marks were two of 90 players named to the watch list. Semifinalists for the award will be announced Oct. 31, with three finalists named on Nov. 21. The winner will be announced on Dec. 8.

Falk led the nation in passing average (380.5 ypg) this past season. He completed 69.4 percent of his passes (447 of 644) and tossed 38 TDs (a single-season WSU record) against just 8 INTs.

Marks caught 104 passes with 15 TD grabs, ranking first in the Pac-12 and fourth nationally in each category. The all-time leader at WSU with 227 career catches, he needs 68 to become the most prolific pass-catcher in the history of the Pac-12 (Nelson Spruce, Colorado).

-- The Maxwell Award is presented to the best college player in the nation each year, though every player on the watch list was an offensive player.

-- WSU center Riley Sorenson was previously named to the Rimington Trophy spring watch list back in May. A new Rimington watch list will be released tomorrow.

-- Multiple watch lists will be released over the next 10 days:

July 6: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy
July 7: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
July 8: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
July 11: Jim Thorpe Award
July 12: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award
July 13: Biletnikoff Award / Wuerffel Trophy
July 14: Davey O'Brien Award / Doak Walker Award
July 15: Walter Camp Award / Paul Hornung Award


Cougfan Top Stories