Washington State o-line names to midseason honor roll of Joe Moore Award

THE COUGAR OFFENSIVE LINE is gaining more and more national attention and plaudits. Because when you run the ball like the Cougs have, in a Mike Leach offense -- and blow Pac-12 opponents out, the critics become fans. WSU has earned one of 17 spots on the midseason honor roll of the Joe Moore Award, which identifies the nation’s notable performances by offensive line units.

And if you’ve never heard of the Foundation for Teamwork and its Joe Moore Award Honor Roll, it’s legit.   Former standout college and pro players such as ESPN radio host Mike Golic and CBS analyst Aaron Taylor are on the voting committee and they solicit opinions from all the offensive line coaches in the FBS. 

The national award is also noteworthy in that it recognizes a unit rather than an individual. Coached by Clay McGuire, the Cougar o-line starters are LT Andre Dillard, LG Cody O'Connell, C Riley Sorenson, RG Eduardo Middleton, RT Cole Madison, with B.J. Salmonson generally the first man off the bench if there's a machination at tackle or guard and Frederick Mauigoa the first man off the bench at center. (L-R, Madison and Middleton are pictured above)

Here's what the foundation said in placing WSU on its midseason honor roll.

Washington State (3-2)
After an 0-2 start, the Cougars have been dominant in their last three games, outscoring opponents 149-55, including a 42-16 drubbing of No. 15 Stanford. Not surprisingly, WSU is second in the nation in passing offense, averaging 381.4 yards per game, but they have also shown an improved running game, averaging more the 200 ypg in the last three games. This big O-line unit (average weight 323 pounds) leads the Pac-12 in fewest tackles allowed for loss allowed (23) and has only given up 11 sacks on 256 passing attempts (4.2 percent), among the best percentages in the Pac-12 Conference. (This is the math I computed: 1. UTAH 4 percent AND 2. USC 3.8 percent).

The award is named after Joe Moore, one of the best offensive line coaches in college football history. The voting committee is “comprised of college football experts, especially people who played or coached the offensive line position, including all of the current offensive line coaches at the Division I/FBS level as well as former players, coaches, colleagues of Coach Moore and select media,” says the foundation.

RELATED STORY: Will Cougs sell out Martin on Saturday vs. UCLA?


Cougfan Top Stories