Colton Teglovic (WSU photo)

Falk, Marks and Luani repeat as players of the year at Washington State's football awards banquet

THE BIG THREE awards all went to repeat winners Thursday night at Washington State’s annual football banquet, but three guys most fans know little about also were feted for their excellence during the Cougars 8-5 2016 season.

Junior quarterback Luke Falk repeated as team MVP while record-shattering senior receiver Gabe Marks and hard-hitting senior nickel/safety Shalom Luani were — for the second-straight season — named offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively.

Farther down the list of honorees is where you find the unsung types who all help make a successful team go round. Namely:

Senior Colton Teglovic, who walked on four years ago from Eastlake High in Redmond, was named Special Teams MVP after playing on all four special team units and recorded eight tackles. A special teams fixture for the last three seasons, he is pictured above.

Sophomore walk on defensive lineman Taylor Comfort, a walk on from Sultan, was named Scout Team Defensive Player of the Year.

And sophomore receiver Brandon Arcanado, who walked on at WSU last year after a year of JC ball, was named Scout Team Offensive Player of the Year

Two other honorees of particular note were fourth-year junior linebacker Isaac Dotson and senior linebacker Parker Henry.

Dotson was named the recipient of the Tim Petek Strongest Man Award. Dotson played multiple positions his first three seasons at WSU but found a home at linebacker and had 64 tackles, six tackles-for-loss and two interceptions in 2016.

Parker was awarded the Randal Simmons Award for the second-straight season, named in honor of the former Cougar and Los Angeles SWAT team member who was killed in the line of duty in 2008. While limited on the field, Henry was a tremendous leader and role model for the younger team members.

Here’s the complete awards run down from Thursday’s banquet:


Laurie Niemi Award (Cougar Courage and Attitude) – River Cracraft

Frank Butler Award (Cougar Spirit) – Eduardo Middleton

J. Fred Bohler Award (Cougar Inspiration) – Riley Sorenson


MVP – Luke Falk

Tim Petek Award (Strongest Man Award) –  Isaac Dotson

Special Teams MVP – Colton Teglovic

Cougar Academic Excellence Award – Nick Begg

Randal Simmons Award (Coaches Award) – Parker Henry


Defensive MVP -- Shalom Luani

Defense Captain Award –  Peyton Pelluer

Leon Bender Award (Defensive Lineman of the Year) – Hercules Mata’afa

Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year – Taylor Comfort


Offensive MVP - Gabe Marks

Offense Captain Award –  Jamal Morrow

Mike Utley Award (Offensive Lineman of the Year) – Cody O’Connell

Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year – Brandon Arconado

Cougfan Top Stories