WSU 35th Annual Senior Awards: Josh Hawkinson, Riley Sorenson double honorees

AT WSU'S ANNUAL SENIOR RECOGNITION luncheon on Friday, Josh Hawkinson (men’s basketball) and Riley Sorenson (football) were double honorees.

Hawkinson and Nicole Hare (Rowing) were presented with the Pac-12's Tom Hansen Conference Medal for achievement in athletics, scholarship and leadership.

Hawkinson and Hare, for displaying sportsmanship, dedication and positive regard for others, were also named the recipients of the Beulah M. Blankenship Outstanding Student-Athlete Award at the 35th annual luncheon on Friday.

Sorenson and Ivana Kmetovska (Women's Basketball) received the Athletic Director's Star Performer Award, given to the male and female senior student-athletes who best reflect a commitment to academic improvement leading to successful completion of their degree.

Along with Anna Rosen (Swimming) Sorenson also received the The Damien Ficek Athletic Training Award, bestowed on the male and female student-athlete who are humble, hard working in the training room and have overcome physical and/or other personal challenges to succeed at WSU.

The Big Ten Senior Awards went to River Cracraft (Football) and Susie White (Soccer), The Rob Oviatt Strength and Conditioning Award were taken home by Ike Iroegbu (Men's Basketball) and Brittany Brooks, while John Thompson (Football) and Kiana Davis (Women's Track & Field) were presented with the True Cougar Award.

Click here for a complete list of awards and recipients.

RELATED: Finally, something breaks Sorenson's way

Cougfan Top Stories