Armstrong named first team All Pac-10 again

PULLMAN -- Washington State senior offensive tackle <b>Calvin Armstrong</b> was named first team All-Pac-10 for the second time in his career Monday, headlining a list of 10 Cougars receiving conference honors.

"This is a nice way to cap off my senior year," Armstrong said. "I would still rather be going to a bowl game right now, but this is a nice honor. This is such a great conference, being named to the first team again will be something I take a lot of pride in when I look back at my career as a Cougar."

Armstrong also earned first team All-Pac-10 as a sophomore in 2002 and was honorable mention in 2003. The Centralia, Wash., native was one of seven conference players making an appearance on the first team for the second time. Armstrong finished his WSU career with 45 starts in 49 games played. Derrick Roche was the last Cougar offensive lineman to be named to the first team twice (2001, 2002).

Fellow senior offensive tackle Sam Lightbody, junior linebacker Will Derting, sophomore wide receiver Jason Hill, and freshman punt returner Michael Bumpus earned second team honors.

Senior Karl Paymah (cornerback), juniors Kyle Basler (punter), Jerome Harrison (running back), and Nick Mihlhauser (center), and sophomore Scott Davis (linebacker) earned honorable mention.

USC's Matt Leinart and Reggie Bush were named Co-Players of the Year on offense, while Oregon State's Bill Swancutt and USC's Shaun Cody will share the Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year honor. Arizona State tight end Zach Miller was named Freshman of the Year and California's Jeff Tedford captured Coach of the Year.

Leinart was also named conference player of the year for 2003. The last Pac-10 performer to repeat as POY was Washington State running back sensation Rueben Mayes, who did it in 1984 and '85.

"I'm proud of our guys that earned their way on to the team this season," WSU Head Coach Bill Doba said. "It says a lot about the way they played to receive that recognition when you go 5-6."

Lightbody, the other half of WSU's senior tackle tandem, earned All-Pac-10 honors for the first time in his career. A second team selection, Lightbody started 28 games in his Cougar career.

Hill hauled in 45 passes for 1,007 yards and a school record 12 touchdowns in his sophomore campaign. The San Francisco, Calif., native scored nine touchdowns in a five-game span during the season, including three on a trio of receptions in the first half against Idaho. He also became just the sixth receiver in WSU history to eclipse 1,000 receiving yards in a season, joining Cougar grab-masters Nakoa McElrath, Tim Stallworth, Mike Levenseller, CJ Davis and Chris Jackson.

Derting, a first team selection in 2003, led WSU with 93 tackles, including 11.5 for loss and two forced fumbles. The junior linebacker and team captain suffered a dislocated wrist in August and played half the season with a cast on his left arm.

Bumpus was named to the second team as a punt returner. In that role, Bumpus accumulated 391 yards and two touchdowns. His 391 yards was the fourth-best total in school history.

Basler earned honorable mention for the second-consecutive year, while Davis, Harrison, Mihlhauser, and Paymah all made their first appearances as Pac-10 honorees.


First Team Offense                         Second Team Offense

QB           Aaron Rodgers, Jr., Cal             QB     Andrew Walter, Grad.,ASU

QB           Matt Leinart, Jr., USC               QB     Derek Anderson, Sr.,OSU

RB           J.J. Arrington, Sr., Cal               RB     LenDale White, So., USC

RB           Reggie Bush, So., USC             RB     Maurice Drew, So., UCLA

WR          Mike Hass, Jr., OSU                 WR    Derek Hagan, Jr., ASU

WR          Geoff McArthur, Sr., Cal            WR    Jason Hill, So.,WSU

TE           Alex Smith, Sr., Stan.               TE     Tim Day, Jr., UO

                                                              TE     Marcedes Lewis, Jr., UCLA

C             Marvin Philip, Jr., Cal                C       Mike McCloskey, Jr., UCLA

OL           Calvin Armstrong, Sr, WSU     OL     Sam Lightbody, Sr., WSU

OL           Ryan O'Callaghan, Jr., Cal         OL     Steven Vieira, Sr., UCLA

OL           Grayling Love, Jr., ASU             OL     Sam Baker, Fr., USC

OL           Doug Nienhuis, Sr., OSU           OL    Andrew Carnahan, Sr.,ASU

OL           Adam Snyder, Sr., UO


First Team Defense                         Second Team Defense

DL           Bill Swancutt, Sr., OSU              DL     Haloti Ngata, So., UO

DL           Mike Patterson, Sr., USC           DL     Jimmy Verdon, Sr., ASU

DL           Shaun Cody, Sr., USC               DL     Manase Hopoi, Sr., UW

DL           Ryan Riddle, Sr., Cal                 DL     Lorenzo Alexander, Sr.,CAL

LB           Matt Grootegoed, Sr., USC        LB     Will Derting, Jr., WSU

LB           Lofa Tatupu, Jr., USC                LB     Spencer Havner, Jr., UCLA

LB           Wendell Hunter, Sr., Cal            LB     Jon Alston, Jr., Stanford

                                                              LB     Trent Bray, Jr., OSU

DB           Mitch Meeuwsen, Sr., OSU       DB     Darrell Brooks, Jr.,UA

DB           Matt Clark, Sr., UCLA               DB    Aric Williams, Sr., OSU

DB           Matt Giordano, Sr., Cal             DB    Darnell Bing, So., USC

DB           Riccardo Stewart, Sr., ASU       DB    Brandon Browner, So.,OSU


First Team Specialists                     Second Team Specialists

PK           Justin Medlock, So., UCLA        PK     Alexis Serna, Fr., OSU

P             Tom Malone, Jr., USC               P       Chris Kluwe, Sr., UCLA

KR           T.J. Rushing, Jr., Stan.              KR    Reggie Bush, So., USC

PR           Reggie Bush, So., USC             PR    Maurice Drew, So., UCLA

                                                               PR    Michael Bumpus, Fr., WSU

ST           Michael Okwo, So., Stan.          ST     Desmond Reed, Fr., USC

ST           Byron Storer, So., Cal


Honorable Mention

ARIZONA: RB Mike Bell, Jr.; CB Antoine Cason, Fr.; TE Steve Fleming, Sr.; C Keoki Fraser, Sr.; KR Syndric Steptoe, So.

ARIZONA STATE: PK Jesse Ainsworth, So.; MLB Justin Burks, Sr.; C Drew Hodgdon, Grad.; WR Terry Richardson, So.; OLB Dale Robinson, Jr.; OLB Jamar Williams, Jr.

CALIFORNIA: OT Andrew Cameron, So.; OG Jonathan Giesel, Sr.; FS Ryan Gutierrez, Sr.; MLB Joe Maningo, Sr.; ST Mike McGrath, Sr.; NT Brandon Mebane, So.; OG Aaron Merz, Jr.; CB Harrison Smith, Jr.

OREGON: QB Kellen Clemens, Jr.; CB Aaron Gipson, Jr.; DE Devan Long, Jr.; MLB Jerry Matson, Sr.; PR Justin Phinisee, Jr.; OG Nick Steitz, Sr.; TB Terrence Whitehead, Jr.

OREGON STATE: C Matt Brock, Sr.; OLB Keith Ellison, Jr.; TE Joe Newton, So.; P Sam Paulescu, Jr.; SS Sabby Piscitelli, So.; OLB Jonathan Pollard, Sr.; TB Dwight Wright, Sr.

STANFORD: FS Oshimogho Atogwe, Sr.; DT Julian Jenkins, Jr.; FL Evan Moore, So.; NT Babatunde Oshinowo, Jr.; ILB Kevin Schimmelman, Jr.; CB Stanley Wilson, Sr.

UCLA: FL Craig Bragg, Sr.; OT Paul Molicer, Sr.; SS Jarrad Page, Jr.; FB Michael Pitre, Fr.; TB Manuel White, Sr.

USC: TE Dominique Byrd, Jr.; TE Alex Holmes, Sr.; SE Dwayne Jarrett, Fr.; FS Jason Leach, Sr.; OLB Dallas Sartz, Jr.; DT Manuel Wright, So.; CB Justin Wyatt, Jr.

WASHINGTON: CB Derrick Johnson, Sr.; ILB Joe Lobendahn, Jr.

WASHINGTON STATE: P Kyle Basler, Jr.; OLB Scott Davis., So.; RB Jerome Harrison, Jr.; C Nick Mihlhauser, Jr.; CB Karl Paymah, Sr.


Cougfan Top Stories