And the award goes to...

PULLMAN -- The Washington State football team held its annual, season-ending banquet Saturday evening, honoring the senior class and standout performers of 2004.

The offensive most valuable player was awarded to sophomore receiver Jason Hill.  On the other side of the ball, linebackers Will Derting and Scott Davis shared most valuable player honors on defense. 

Arizona fans react as Scott Davis takes in a fumble for an apparent score. The officiating crew, replays showed, incorrectly ruled the ball down. Washington State scored the deciding touchdown three plays later.

Hill caught 45 passes for 1,007 yards and set a school record with 12 touchdown passes.

Derting and Davis combined for 179 tackles, including 20 for losses. The tandem also had six forced fumbles on the season.

Junior punter Kyle Basler walked away with special teams most valuable player honors, averaging 43.1 yards per attempt in 2004. The Elma, Wash., native placed 19 punts inside the 20-yard line.

Senior safety Jeremy Bohannon earned both the Frank Butler and Fred Bohler Awards. The Frank Butler Award is given annually to a senior member of the team who exemplifies the "Cougar Spirit" made famous by the honors' namesake.  The Fred Bohler Award is given to the senior who best embodies the inspirational qualities of the former WSU athletic director and basketball coach.

Fellow safety Hamza Abdullah captured the Laurie Niemi Award for courage and attitude.

Sam Lightbody was named the Offensive Lineman of the Year while senior Steve Cook and junior Adam Braidwood shared the Leon Bender Defensive Lineman of the Year Award.

Braidwood also won a share of the Tim Petek Strongest Man Award along with senior linebacker Pat Bennett. Running back Blair Hawkins earned the Ozzie Dire Scout Team Player of the Year.

Additional special teams awards went to Husain Abdullah (Assassin), Eric Frampton (Iron Man), and Michael Bumpus (Game Breaker).

Frank Butler Award
Jeremy Bohannon

Laurie Niemi Award              
Hamza Abdullah

Fred Bohler Award               
Jeremy Bohannon

Leon Bender Award  (Defensive Lineman of the Year)
Adam Braidwood/Steve Cook

Offensive Lineman of the Year    
Sam Lightbody

Tim Petek Strongest Man Award   
Pat Bennett/Adam Braidwood

Ozzie Dire Scout Team Player 
of the Year 
Blair Hawkins
Offensive Most Valuable Player  
Jason Hill

Defensive Most Valuable Player
Will Derting/Scott Davis

Husain Abdullah

Iron Man        
Eric Frampton

Game Breaker    
Michael Bumpus

Special Teams Most Valuable Player      
Kyle Basler

Cougfan Top Stories