The envelope please...

AWARDS AND HONORS were handed out at the Cougars annual, season-ending banquet Saturday evening, honoring the senior class and standout performers of 2005.

The offensive most valuable player was awarded to senior running back Jerome Harrison while on the other side of the ball, junior defensive end Mkristo Bruce was a double-winner, taking home the defensive most valuable player and the Leon Bender Award as the defensive lineman of the year.


Harrison set numerous school records, including the single season rushing mark with 1,900 yards. The Ghost also rushed for a Pa-10-record 100-plus yards in 14 straight games and leads the nation in rushing at 172.6 hashes per game.

Bruce led the team in sacks (10), which tied for seventh on the single-season list in program history, and was second among all Pac-10 players. His 15 tackles for loss were tied for first in the Pac-10, as the junior racked up 67 tackles on the season.


Senior center Nick Mihlhauser received the Mike Utley Award, given to the offensive lineman of the year. Mihlhauser was the anchor on an offensive line that produced 489 yards per game and cleared the way for the nation's leading rusher.


Senior tight end Troy Bienemann took home the Laurie Niemi Award, which is given to the senior who best depicts the courage and attitude of former Cougar assistant coach Laurie Niemi.


Senior receiver Marty Martin was given the Frank Butler Award, given to a senior member of the team who exemplifies the Cougar spirit made famous by Spokane booster Frank Butler.


The Cougar Inspiration Award, known as the Fred Bohler Award, went to senior linebacker Will Derting for best displaying the inspiration of former athletic director and head basketball coach Fred Bohler.


Senior defensive end Adam Braidwood took home the Tim Petek Strongest Man Award winner for the second straight season. Braidwood registered 27 tackles on the season and was second on the team in both sacks (6.5) and tackles for loss (8.5).


Freshman quarterback Arkelon Hall was named the winner of the Ozzie Dire Award, given to a scout team member who is devoted to his teammates and their success.


One of a triumvirate recognized for their work on special teams, freshman Courtney Williams took home the Assassin, given to the individual who records the most tackles on special teams on the season.


Sophomore Jed Collins walked off with the Iron Man Award, which goes to the player who accumulates the most plays on special teams over the course of the year.


Senior punter Kyle Basler, who set school marks for career punts and punt yardage and finished his Cougar career second all-time in punting average, was given the Game Breaker Award, representing the player who consistently performs at a high level on special teams.

Laurie Niemi Award (Cougar Attitude) - Troy Bienemann
Frank Butler Award (Cougar Spirit) - Marty Martin
Fred Bohler Award (Cougar Inspiration) - Will Derting

Defensive Most Valuable Player - Mkristo Bruce
Offensive Most Valuable Player - Jerome Harrison
Leon Bender Award (Defensive Lineman of the Year) - Mkristo Bruce
Mike Utley Award (Offensive Lineman of the Year) - Nick Mihlhauser
Tim Petek Award (Strongest Man Award) - Adam Braidwood
Ozzie Dire Award (Scout Team Player of the Year) - Arkelon Hall

Assassin - Courtney Williams
Iron Man - Jed Collins
Game Breaker - Kyle Basler

Cougfan Top Stories