Frampton, Bruce named first team all Pac-10

ERIC FRAMPTON AND MKRISTO BRUCE took home first team all-Pac-10 honors the league announced Monday as voted upon by the league coaches. Two Cougars on offense were named to the Pac-10 second team and another five players from Washington State were selected to all-league honorable mention.

Strong safety Eric Frampton cracked the century mark in leading the Cougs in tackles (100) for the second straight season. Mkristo Bruce for the second consecutive year led Washington State in sacks (11) and tackles-for-loss (16) in recording 67 stops despite playing much of the season in a 3-4 defense and with a sore knee.

Alex Brink was selected second team by the league's coaches, compiling a 133.14 quarterback rating in completing 241 of 396 passes with 19 TDs and 10 interceptions. The junior quarterback threw for 2,899 yards.

Brink's leading touchdown target was Jason Hill. In 10 games, the senior caught 41 passes for 600 yards and seven touchdowns in earning second team honors.

Named honorable mention were TE Cody Boyd, Sr.; CB Tyron Brackenridge, Sr.; WR Michael Bumpus, Jr.; OLB Scott Davis, Sr. and OT Charles Harris, Sr.

Last season, Washington State placed eight on the all-league team, with Jerome Harrison the lone first team selection. The 2005 honors included Bruce and Hill who were each named second team as juniors.

Cougfan Top Stories