Polk, Foster, Rasp & Walker Take MVP Honors

SEATTLE – Senior quarterback Jake Locker won the Guy Flaherty Award, the Washington football program's oldest and most prestigious team award, for the second straight season, while Chris Polk, Mason Foster, Kiel Rasp and Greg Walker won MVP honors at the Husky football team's postseason awards dinner.

The dinner, which included coaches, players, family and fans, was held Tuesday evening at the Westin Hotel in downtown Seattle.

Locker, from Ferndale, Wash., closed out his college career by leading the Huskies to their first bowl game since 2002 as the Huskies will take on Nebraska in the Holiday Bowl Dec. 30. He completed 179 of 316 passes for 2,209 yards and 17 touchdowns. Locker is only the third player ever to win the Flaherty Award more than once, joining Tom Ward (1911-12) and Jordan Reffett (2006-07).

Polk, a sophomore from Redlands, Calif., was named the 950 KJR Most Valuable Offensive Player for the second straight season. He rushed for 1,238 yards in 2010, making him just the second Husky ever to rush for 1,000 yards or more in two seasons.

Foster, a senior from Seaside, Calif., won the 950 KJR Most Valuable Defense Player. Foster was named first-team All-Pac-10 earlier Tuesday as he led the Pac-10 and was second in the nation with 151 tackles. He also won the UW's defensive MVP in 2008.

Rasp, a junior punter from Seattle, and Walker, a sophomore safety from Bellflower, Calif., shared honors for the 950 KJR Most Valuable Special Teams Player award. Rasp is currently on pace for a school record with his 44.0-yard punt average. The walkon from Nathan Hale High took over the punting duties after one game when starter Will Mahan was injured. Walker posted eight tackles on special teams duty this season.

Junior defensive tackle Alameda Ta'amu (Kent, Wash.) won the L. Wait Rising Defensive Lineman of the Year Award while senior guard Ryan Tolar (Pasco, Wash.), won the John P. Angel Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Polk also took home the Earle Glant Tough Husky Award while senior safety Nate Williams (Renton, Wash.) was honored with the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award.

The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshmen Award winner was true freshman defensive end Hau'oli Jamora (Laie, Hawai'i.), and the Husky Fever 12th Man Award was presented to freshman tailback Jesse Callier (Downey, Calif.). Senior linebacker Victor Aiyewa (Fresno, Texas) took home the 101 Club Academic Achievement Award while senior cornerback Vonzell McDowell Jr. (Kent, Wash.) won the Academic Achievement Award.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year was split among five true freshman offensive linemen: James Atoe (The Dalles, Ore), Mike Criste (Mission Viejo, Calif.), Micah Hatchie (Haleiwa, Hawai'i), Ben Riva (Seattle) and Colin Tanigawa (Pasadena, Calif.).

Freshman defensive linemen Andrew Hudson (Redlands, Calif.) and Josh Shirley (Fontana, Calif.) were named co-winners of the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Player of the Year Award was presented to freshman tailback Willis Wilson (Lakewood, Wash.).

Junior offensive tackle Senio Kelemete (Seattle, Wash.), junior linebacker Cort Dennison (Salt Lake City, Utah) and freshman offensive guard Colin Porter (Bothell, Wash.) picked up weightlifting awards while junior receiver Jermaine Kearse (Lakewood, Wash.) won the Apple Cup Big Play of the Game award for the second straight year.

Finally, head coach Steve Sarkisian introduced a new award, the Don James Perseverance Award, which was presented to senior receiver D'Andre Goodwin (Pacoima, Calif.) and junior cornerback Quinton Richardson (Seattle).
2010 Washington Football Awards:

Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Jake Locker

950 KJR Most Valuable Offensive Player
Chris Polk

950 KJR Most Valuable Defensive Player
Mason Foster

950 KJR Most Valuable Special Teams Players
Kiel Rasp & Greg Walker

Don James Perseverance Awards
D'Andre Goodwin & Quinton Richardson

101 Club Academic Award
Victor Aiyewa

Academic Award
Vonzell McDowell Jr.

John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Ryan Tolar

L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Alameda Ta'amu

Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Chris Polk

Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Nate Williams

Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award
Gregory Christine

Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVPs
James Atoe, Mike Criste, Micah Hatchie, Ben Riva & Colin Tanigawa

Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVPs
Andrew Hudson & Josh Shirley

Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Willis Wilson

Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
Hau'oli Jamora

Husky Fever 12th Man Award
Jesse Callier

Weight Lifting Awards
Offense: Senio Kelemete
Defense: Cort Dennison
Construction Crew: Colin Porter

Apple Cup Big Play of the Game
Jermaine Kearse

Dawgman.com Top Stories