Price Named to Davey O'Brien Finalist List

FORT WORTH, Texas - The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced today the selection of 16 semifinalists for the 2011 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien).

Narrowed down from all 120 quarterbacks from NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools, semifinalists were selected by The O'Brien National Selection Committee, with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2011 O'Brien Semifinalists represent schools from the following conferences: Big 12 (5), Pac-12 (4), Big Ten (3), ACC (1), Conference USA (1), MWC (1) and SEC (1).

The list features returning finalists Andrew Luck (Sr., Stanford) and Kellen Moore (Sr., Boise State) as well as 2009 O'Brien Finalist Case Keenum (Sr., Houston). Returning semifinalists include: Matt Barkley (Jr., USC), Kirk Cousins (Sr., Michigan State), Robert Griffin III (Jr., Baylor), Landry Jones (Jr., Oklahoma), Denard Robinson (Jr., Michigan) and Darron Thomas (Jr., Oregon).

2011 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists
Jr. Matt Barkley USC Pac-12
So. Tajh Boyd Clemson ACC
Sr. Kirk Cousins Michigan State Big Ten
Jr. Seth Doege Texas Tech Big 12
Jr. Robert Griffin III Baylor Big 12
Jr. Landry Jones Oklahoma Big 12
Sr. Case Keenum Houston C-USA
Sr. Andrew Luck Stanford Pac-12
Sr. Kellen Moore Boise State MWC
So. Keith Price Washington Pac-12
Jr. Denard Robinson Michigan Big Ten
Sr. Ryan Tannehill Texas A&M Big 12
Jr. Darron Thomas Oregon Pac-12
Sr. Brandon Weeden Oklahoma State Big 12
Sr. Russell Wilson Wisconsin Big Ten
Jr. Tyler Wilson Arkansas SEC

Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Nov. 20.

The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 21. The 2011 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Thursday, Dec. 8 on ESPN. Fans can visit the show's dedicated web site at to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.

The 35th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held on Feb. 20, 2012 Fort Worth, Texas. Top Stories