Skyline wins record 3rd tourney

After losing the Big Kahuna 7 on 7 Championship in overtime last year, the Skyline Spartans came back to win the 2003 tournament with a 32-26 victory over Shelton (Wash.) HS on the final play of the game. This marks the first time ever that a team has won 3 titles in the 8-year history of this event, considered by many to be the premier 7 on 7 tournament in the Pacific Northwest. It is also the 4th straight year that the title has come down to the final play of the weekend.

Tournament Offensive MVP, Aaron Hasson, threw the game winning touchdown from 18 yards out, setting off a familiar Skyline celebration. For winning, all of the Spartans' seniors earned a pair of Adidas football shoes, courtesy of Big Kahuna Sports. This was Shelton's first ever appearence in the tournament final, for which their players received Adidas athletic bags.

"This tournament has become such a tradition for us, said Skyline Head Coach, Steve Gervais. "Our kids and parents look forward to it every summer and as long as I'm the head coach here, we'll be back."

Ballard (Wash.) HS brought a star-studded lineup, featuring tournament Defensive MVP, Keauntea Bankhead, and finished 3rd with a 35-17 victory over defending champion, Mountain View. The Thunder also won Sunday's Gatorade Linemen-Strongman Challenge.

2002 AAA Champion, WJ Mouat, was clearly the class of the BC teams in attendance, finishing 4th, with a victory over Stanwood (WA) HS. The 4th place finish ties the best ever finish by a Canadian school at this event, last accomplished by Burnaby Central in 1998. Hawks QB, Steve Goosen guided his team to a perfect 3-0 record in the round robin on Saturday, while Jon Fortier was solid in relief on Sunday. WR/DB Jesse Ehrenberg was the only Canadian player to make the tournament All-star team.

Here are the 2002 Big Kahuna 7 on 7 Passing Challenge Tournament All-Star teams:

Jesse Ehrenburg, WJ Mouat
Matt Hoss, Mountain View
Isiah Taito, Shelton
Cole Morgan, Ballard
Aaron Hasson, Skyline - MVP

Mitchell Olsen, Elma HS
Tyler Phillips, Stanwood
Jaden Villnow, Skyline
Jeff Keiburtz, Shelton
Keauntea Bankhead, Ballard - MVP

1. Skyline (WA)
2. Shelton (WA)
3. Ballard (WA)
4. WJ Mouat (BC)
5. Mountain View (WA)
6. Stanwood (WA)
7. Elma (WA)
8. Centennial (BC)
9. Handsworth (BC)
10. Kamiak (WA)

Champions - Mountain View (WA)

2004 tournament dates: July 11-12 Top Stories