Cooper Wins Flaherty Award

SEATTLE – Junior running back Deontae Cooper won the 106th Guy Flaherty Award, the Washington football program's oldest and most prestigious team award at the Husky football team's postseason celebration. Junior Bishop Sankey was named the Sports Radio 950 KJR Offensive MVP, while junior Ha'ouli Kikaha and senior Travis Coons won defensive and special teams MVP honors, respectively.

The event was held Sunday afternoon in Club Husky at Husky Stadium.

Cooper, from Perris, Calif., is in his fourth year at Washington, yet made his long awaited Husky debut after missing each of the previous three seasons due to ACL injuries. He rushed for 270 yards on 43 carries and scored three touchdowns. The Flaherty Award, voted on by the players, was first awarded in 1908 and is given to the team's most inspirational player. Cooper was also the Husky Lifting Award winner among offensive players for excellence in the weight room.

Sankey, a junior from Spokane, Wash., set numerous UW records this year: single-season rushing yards (1,775), yards per game (147.9), attempts (306) and career rushing touchdowns (36). He ranked second nationally in yards and third in yards per game. The Doak Walker finalist was also first team All-Pac-12 and second team Pac-12 All-Academic.

Kikaha, from Laie, Hawai'i, is a fourth-year junior playing in just his second full season after missing two years due to an ACL injury. He was named second team All-Pac-12 after leading the UW with 10 sacks, 12.5 tackles for loss and has notched 61 total tackles. Kikaha, a member of the first team All-Pac-12 Academic squad, was also named L. Wait Rising Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Coons, who handles all kicks and punts for Washington, was honored as the second team All-Pac-12 punter and as a kicker was on the honorable mention list. The senior from Alta Loma, Calif., punted 56 times for a 40.7-yard average while also connecting of 14 out of 15 field-goal attempts. He also was named the team's Academic Achievement Award winner.

Junior tackle Micah Hatchie (Haleiwa, Hawai'i) won the John P. Angel Offensive Lineman of the Year, while true freshman wide receiver John Ross (Long Beach, Calif.) was the Travis Spring Outstanding Freshman Award winner.

Senior linebacker Princeton Fuimaono (Long Beach, Calif.) was the Earle Glant Tough Husky Award winner, while sophomore linebacker Shaq Thompson (Sacramento, Calif.) was honored with the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year went to freshman Lavon Coleman (Lompoc, Calif.). Freshman Jermaine Kelly (Los Angeles, Calif.) was named winner of the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Player of the Year Award was presented to freshman Azeem Victor (Upland, Calif.).

The Don James Perseverance Award was given to senior defensive back Tre Watson (Seattle, Wash.), while the Husky Fever 12th Man Award was presented to seniors Kevin Smith (Compton, Calif.) and Sean Parker (Los Angeles, Calif.).

The only pair of fifth-year seniors on the squad shared the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award: quarterback Keith Price and safety Will Shamburger. The duo grew up together in Los Angeles, Calif. and finished up their school careers by teaching physical education to students at Green Lake Elementary.

Junior wide receiver DiAndre Campbell (Oakland, Calif.) was the 101 Club Academic Excellence Award winner.

Taniela Tupou, a sophomore defensive end from Marysville, Wash., and Andrew Kirkland, a freshman offensive lineman from Portland, Ore., picked up weightlifting awards.

Finally, three student staff members were presented with the Kurt Gegner Memorial Award: Kiernan Honeycutt (equipment), Reid Mayfield (video) and Marlee Gross (training).
2012 Washington Football Awards 
Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational 
Deontae Cooper

Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Valuable Offensive Player
Bishop Sankey

Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Valuable Defensive Player
Hau'oli Kikaha

Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Valuable Special Teams Player
Travis Coons

Don James Perseverance Award
Tre Watson

101 Club Academic Award
DiAndre Campbell

John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Micah Hatchie

L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Hau'oli Kikaha

Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Princeton Fuimaono

Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Shaq Thompson

Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award
Keith Price and Will Shamburger

Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Lavon Coleman

Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Jermaine Kelly

Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Azeem Victor

Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
John Ross

Husky Fever 12th Man Award
Kevin Smith and Sean Parker

Weight Lifting Awards
Offense: Deontae Cooper
Defense: Taniela Tupou
Construction Crew: Andrew Kirkland

Academic Achievement Award
Travis Coons

Kurt Gegner Memorial Award
Equipment: Kiernan Honeycutt
Video: Reid Mayfield
Training Room: Marlee Gross Top Stories