Biddle Named Flaherty Winner At UW Awards Banquet

SEATTLE - Husky senior safety Owen Biddle, a former walkon player, took top honors at the Washington football team's annual awards banquet when he was named the winner of the Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational Award. During the 2003 season, Biddle starred on the special teams before working his way into a starter's role. He finished the year with 39 tackles, including 20 on special teams.

The Flaherty Award is Washington's oldest (since 1908) and most prestigious individual award. Biddle also earned two other honors - the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award and the Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Outstanding Special Teams Player award - at the banquet, held tonight at Seattle's downtown Sheraton.

Junior cornerback Derrick Johnson, who led the team with six interceptions, earned the team's MVP Defense.

Washington's MVP awards are voted on by members of the team.

Senior quarterback and captain Cody Pickett won the Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Outstanding Offensive Player Award after throwing for 3,043 yards this season, second-most in UW history. while senior linebacker Marquis Cooper, who led the team with 89 tackles, earned KJR's Most Outstanding Defensive Player Award. Biddle and senior punter Garth Erickson shared KJR's Most Outstanding Special Teams Players award.

Senior defensive tackle Jerome Stevens was the winner of the L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year Award while linemate Terry Johnson, a senior captain won the John P. Angel Outstanding Defensive Lineman award. For the second straight season, senior Nick Newton was named the the John P. Angel Outstanding Offensive Lineman. Senior outside linebacker and captain Greg Carothers won the Earle Glant Tough Husky Award while Biddle shared the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award with junior fullback Zach Tuiasosopo

KING-TV's Most Improved Awards were presented to Tuiasosopo on offense while Stevens took the Most Improved honor on defense. The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshmen Awards winners were tailback Kenny James on offense and defensive tackle Donny Mateaki on defense. Husky Fever 12th Man Awards were presented to junior tight end Jon Lyon on offense and junior cornerback Sam Cunningham on defense.

Williams also picked up the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award, presented to the student-athlete who excels on the field and volunteers extensively in the community. Junior defensive end Ty Eriks, a pre-med student with a 3.67 grade point average, won the Academic Excellence Award while junior safety Jimmy Newell won the 101 Club Academic Achievement Award. Newell carries a 3.28 GPA in economics and business adminstration.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year went to freshman tailback Louis Rankin while freshman safety Chris Hemphill was announced as the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Players of the Year Award was presented to freshman Mike Mizuha.

The Kurt Gegner Memorial Award was presented to Jared Ito, a student assistant on the Husky equipment staff and Lucas Jordan, a student trainer.

2003 Washington Football Awards

Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational - Owen Biddle

Team MVP Award - Charles Frederick & Reggie Williams (Offense), Derrick Johnson (Defense)

Sports Radio 950 KJR Players of the Year - Cody Pickett (Offense), Marquis Cooper (Defense), Owen Biddle & Garth Erickson (Special Teams)

KING-TV Most Improved Player - Zach Tuiasosopo (Offense), Jerome Stevens (Defense)

John P. Angel Lineman of the Year - Nick Newton (Offense), Terry Johnson (Defense)

L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year - Jerome Stevens

101 Club Academic Award - Jimmy Newell

Earle T. Glant Tough Husky - Greg Carothers

Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award - Owen Biddle & Zach Tuiasosopo

Tyee Sports Council Service Award - Reggie Williams

Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP - Louis Rankin

Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP - Chris Hemphill

Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP - Mike Mizuha

Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman - Kenny James (Offense), Donny Mateaki (Defense)

Academic Excellence Award - Ty Eriks

Kurt P. Gegner Memorial Award - Jared Ito (Equipment Room Staff), Lucas Jordan (Athletic Training Staff) Top Stories