Huskies' Robinson a 3rd-team AP All-American

SEATTLE - Washington junior guard Nate Robinson was named to the Associated Press' All-America third team Tuesday, three days after leading the 29-5 Huskies to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 1998.

Utah center Andrew Bogut was the leading vote-getter on the AP All-America team, selected by the same 72-member national media panel which selects the weekly Top-25. Wayne Simien of Kansas, Hakim Warrick of Syracuse, J.J. Redick of Duke and Chris Paul of Wake Forest joined Bogut on the first team. Balloting was conducted before the NCAA Tournament began.

The 5-foot-9 Robinson ranks among the Pac-10 leaders in six different categories this season, including scoring (16.6 ppg, 6th Pac-10), assists (4.59 apg, 5th), steals (1.74 spg, 3rd), 3-point field goal percentage (.397, 10th), assist to turnover ratio (2.26, 2nd) and minutes played (31.62 mpg, 10th). The junior guard scored 32 points in the No. 1-seed Huskies' two NCAA Tournament victories last weekend, including 23 points, seven rebounds and three assists in a 97-79 second-round victory over eighth-seeded Pacific.

His 156 assists on the season are the third-most in Husky history, and his 292 career assists rank seventh. Robinson's 59 steals are tied for third in UW's annals and he is third with 138 career steals.

The All-America honor is the second in 11 days for Robinson, who was named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-America third-team on Mar. 11. The junior was also a first-team USBWA All-District 9 selection in 2005, and earned his second-straight first-team All-Pac-10 honor.

Robinson and the Huskies will face fourth-seeded Louisville in an NCAA Tournament regional semifinal game in Albuquerque, N.M., Thursday at 4:10 p.m. PST.

2005 Associated Press All - American Teams
First Team
Name               Institution
Andrew Bogut       Utah
Chris Paul         Wake Forest
J.J. Redick        Duke
Wayne Simien       Kansas
Hakim Warrick      Syracuse
Second Team 
Dee Brown          Illinois
Ike Diogu          Arizona State
Luther Head        Illinois
Sean May           North Carolina
Salim Stoudamire   Arizona
Third Team 
Raymond Felton     North Carolina
Joey Graham        Oklahoma State
Nate Robinson      Washington
Deron Williams     Illinois
Shelden Williams   Duke Top Stories