Nickolich Award Winner - Ryan Nehlen

The Blue & Gold News is proud to announce the 2011 winner of the Tommy Nickolich Award, presented annually to the football walk-on who has distinguished himself with attitude and effort.

Ryan Nehlen has been a pleasant surprise for West Virginia's offense this spring. As the unit makes the transition to Dana Holgorsen's offense, Nehlen has been a consistent performer, showing good hands and making catches throughout the 14 practices to date. His performance this spring, coupled with his dedication and effort throughout his Mountaineer career, made him an easy choice for this year's award.

The Blue & Gold News is proud to present the Tommy Nickolich Award to the walk-on member of the Mountaineer football team who has distinguished himself with his attitude and effort. It was established in 1991 as a memorial to Tom Nickolich, a former WVU walk-on player who died of cancer in 1983. The Blue & Gold News is proud to be a part of this award.

Following is a list of the past award winners.

1991 Keith Taparausky RB
1992 Ray Wilcox LB
1993 Matt McCulty WR
1994 Randy Fulmore DB
1995 Rob Keys DB
1996 Matt Ceresa OL
1997 David Lightcap DB
1998 Mark Corman TE
1999 Bryan Lorenz TE
2000 Ben Collins DB
2001 Jeremy Knapp TE
2002 Moe Fofana FB
2003 John Pennington WR
2004 Jeff Noechel LB
2005 George Shehl H
2006 Tim Lindsey LS
2007 Andy Emery LB
2008 Adam Hughes LS
2009 Josh Taylor DL
2010 Matt Lindamood LB

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories