Anderson Wins Nickolich Award

The Blue & Gold News is proud to announce the 2012 winner of the Tommy Nickolich Award, presented annually to the football walk-on who has distinguished himself with attitude and effort.

With all due respect to Tyler Anderson, he was a mere footnote in the minds of most heading into spring practice.

The depth chart West Virginia coaches released in the weeks before practice began had him as a third-teamer at the new "Buck" position. So it was a bit of an eye-opener to see Anderson move all the way to the first line at defensive end when an amended depth chart was sent out in the middle of spring.

The position move isn't necessarily set in stone -- Anderson will play as much "Buck" as he does defensive end and will switch between the two spots based on situations. And come fall, the competition for playing time will get that much more fierce when Jewone Snow returns to the rotation.

But the Morgantown native has proven his worth this spring and will certainly be in the mix when fall comes around. He joins a long list of walk-ons who have earned the respect of coaches and teammates with hard work and determination.

The Blue & Gold News is proud to present the Tommy Nickolich Award to the walk-on member of the Mountaineer football team who has distinguished himself with his attitude and effort. It was established in 1991 as a memorial to Tom Nickolich, a former WVU walk-on player who died of cancer in 1983.

1991 Keith Taparausky RB
1992 Ray Wilcox LB
1993 Matt McCulty WR
1994 Randy Fulmore DB
1995 Rob Keys DB
1996 Matt Ceresa OL
1997 David Lightcap DB
1998 Mark Corman TE
1999 Bryan Lorenz TE
2000 Ben Collins DB
2001 Jeremy Knapp TE
2002 Moe Fofana FB
2003 John Pennington WR
2004 Jeff Noechel LB
2005 George Shehl H
2006 Tim Lindsey LS
2007 Andy Emery LB
2008 Adam Hughes LS
2009 Josh Taylor DL
2010 Matt Lindamood FB
2011 Ryan Nehlen WR

BlueGoldNews Top Stories