Smith, Austin on Maxwell List

A fortnight's worth of major college football award watch list announcements kicked off today, and two Mountaineers hold a spot on the Maxwell Award's roster.

West Virginia quarterback Geno Smith and wide receiver Tavon Austin are two of the 64 names on the preseason watch list for the Maxwell Award, which is given to America's outstanding collegiate football player. The Award, first presented in 1937, is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell.

Smith and Austin are two of 11 players from the Big 12 conference nominated for the Award.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced October 29, and the three finalists for the award will be unveiled November 19. The winner of the 2012 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on December 6. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 1, 2013.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, evaluating past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2012 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

BlueGoldNews Top Stories