Alamo Rising

The Alamo Bowl will get the first pick from the Big 12 under a new six-year deal with the Pac-12 announced Friday.

It makes the Alamo Bowl the marquee game for the Big 12 outside the new four-team College Football Playoff that begins next year. The Cotton Bowl had previously been the signature game for Big 12 teams that didn't make the Bowl Championship Series.

The Alamo Bowl will also continue to get first dibs from the Pac-12 outside the playoff.

Started in 1993, the Alamo Bowl is on a streak of exciting postseason games. Texas rallied to beat Oregon State last year, while two seasons ago, Heisman Trophy winner Robert Griffin III led Baylor to victory in a 67-56 thriller over Washington.

The Sugar and Cotton Bowls, previously premier Big 12 destinations, will be two of the six bowls that will host playoff semifinals on a rotating basis. In years in which the Sugar Bowl is not one of the semifinal hosts, it will take the top-rated Big 12 team that is not a part of the playoff.

BlueGoldNews Top Stories