WVU Totals 12 On Early All-Conference List

In addition to Karl Joseph and Josh Lambert, who also nabbed national All-America honors, West Virginia put 10 additional members of its football team on Phil Steele's preseason All-Big 12 conference squad.

Steele, one of the preeminent analysts of the college game, selected a total of 12 Mountaineers to his four-deep Big 12 football preseason all conference team. The list includes three offensive, five defensive and four special team selections.

Joining Joseph and Lambert on the first team is linebacker Nick Kwiatkoski. The senior native of Bethel Park, Pa., has 217 tackles over his first three seasons, including 18 stops behind the line of scrimmage. He also notched three interceptions, two forced fumbles and three pass breakups. Almost two-thirds of his tackles are solo stops.

Redshirt junior center Tyler Orlosky is West Virginia's sole representative on the second team.

The Mountaineers placed five on the third team, including redshirt junior Rushel Shell, Senior defensive lineman Kyle Rose, sophomore safety Dravon Henry and senior punter Nick O'Toole. Senior receiver Jordan Thompson was selected as a punt return specialist.

WVU closed out their listings with a trio on the fourth team selections, including junior running back Wendell Smallwood, senior safety K.J. Dillon, and wide receiver Shelton Gibson, who made the team as a kickoff return specialist.

BlueGoldNews Top Stories