WVU Puts Three on All-Big 12 Preseason Team

West Virginia players occupied three of the 30 slots on the all-Big 12 Preseason Football team, as voted on by select media members and announced today.

Linebacker Nick Kwiatkoski, safety Karl Joseph and placekicker Josh Lambert are West Virginia's representatives on the team. Each of those players have also been named to preseason watch lists for national awards.

The preseason team was dominated by upperclassmen with 19 seniors and 10 juniors among the 30 honorees. Eleven players were named to the 2014 All-Big 12 First Team while eight were on the second team.

Individual selections include quarterback Trevone Boykin (TCU) as Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, lineman Shawn Oakman (Baylor) as Preseason Defensive Player of the Year and running back Chris Carson (Oklahoma State) as Preseason Newcomer of the Year.

Baylor put seven players on the team, followed by TCU and Oklahoma with five each. Oklahoma State, Texas Tech and Kansas State each had three, followed by Texas with one.

The media Preseason Big 12 Poll will be released on Thursday, July 15.

BlueGoldNews Top Stories