Rasheed on Watch List

The Davey O'Brien Foundation today announced the preseason watch list for the 2003 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, given annually to the nation's top college quarterback.

The O'Brien Award is the oldest and most prestigious award in the country for college quarterbacks and is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien, the All-American and Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback for Texas Christian University who led the Horned Frogs to the 1938 national championship.

Semifinalists will be announced in early November and narrowed to three finalists later in that month by the O'Brien National Advisory Committee. The committee is comprised of nationally known sportswriters, commentators and other members of the media. The winner of the 2003 O'Brien Award will be announced Dec. 11 on the ESPN College Football Awards Show from Orlando, Fla. The winner will be honored at the 27th annual O'Brien Awards Dinner in February 2004, at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

WVU opponents Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, Maryland, Virginia Tech and Miami also have quarterbacks on the list.

The 42 candidates on the watch list are:

Asad Abdul-Khaliq, Sr., Minnesota 
Brock Berlin, Jr., Miami 
Jon Beutjer, Sr., Illinois 
Casey Bramlet, Sr., Wyoming 
Timmy Chang, Jr., Hawaii 
Casey Clausen, Sr., Tennessee 
Ryan Dinwiddie, Sr., Boise State 
Darian Durant, Jr., North Carolina 
Josh Fields, Jr., Oklahoma State 
David Greene, Jr., Georgia 
Gino Guidugli, Jr., Cincinnati 
Darrell Hackney, Soph., UAB 
Adam Hall, Sr., San Diego State 
Chance Harridge, Sr., Air Force 
Josh Harris, Sr., Bowling Green 
Carlyle Holiday, Sr., Notre Dame 
Craig Krenzel, Sr., Ohio State 
Jammal Lord, Sr., Nebraska 
Jared Lorenzen, Sr., Kentucky 
J.P. Losman, Sr., Tulane 
Matt LoVecchio, Jr., Indiana 
Scott McBrien, Sr., Maryland 
Luke McCown, Sr., Louisiana Tech 
Rasheed Marshall, Jr., West Virginia 
Eli Manning, Sr., Ole Miss 
Zack Mills, Jr., Penn State 
John Navarre, Sr., Michigan 
Kyle Orton, Jr., Purdue 
Cody Pickett, Sr., Washington 
Bryan Randall, Jr., Virginia Tech 
Philip Rivers, Sr., North Carolina State 
Chris Rix, Jr., Florida State 
Ell Roberson, Sr., Kansas State 
Ben Roethlisberger, Jr., Miami (Ohio) 
Rod Rutherford, Sr., Pittsburgh 
Matt Schaub, Sr., Virginia 
Ryan Schneider, Sr., Central Florida 
Brad Smith, Soph., Missouri 
Bradlee Van Pelt, Sr., Colorado State 
Andrew Walter, Jr., Arizona State 
Bill Whittemore, Sr., Kansas 
Danny Wimprine, Jr., Memphis 

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories