\ Kevin Kinder

Jevon Carter, Tarik Phillip, Nathan Adrian Snare Big 12 Awards

West Virginia captured two individual Big 12 Men's Basketball awards and put two players on all-league teams.

 Jevon Carter won the Big 12 defensive player of the year award while backcourt mate Tarik Phillip took the league's sixth man honors.

Carter leads the Big 12 with 85 steals and is the third player in conference history to be a three-time member of the All-Defensive Team. He ranks sixth nationally in steals and is third all-time in school history for thefts in a season. Carter is the first WVU player to earn the conference defensive award since the school joined the Big 12. Carter was also a member of the league's all-defensive team.

Phillip came off the bench 10 times in conference play and 17 times overall and was fourth on the Mountaineer squad with 9.3 points per contest. He was second for WVU in both assists (100) and steals (61), with the thefts total ranking third in the Big 12 overall.

Carter and Nathan Adrian also earned spots on the Big 12 all-league teams. Carter was a second team selection, while Adrian made the third team. Adrian was also a member of the all-defensive team.

Selections were made by the league's head coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own players.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR Frank Mason III, Kansas**

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR Jevon Carter, West Virginia

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR Manu Lecomte, Baylor

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR Josh Jackson, Kansas**

SIXTH MAN AWARD Tarik Phillip, West Virginia

COACH OF THE YEAR Bill Self, Kansas

All-Big 12 First Team

Johnathan Motley, Baylor**
Monté Morris, Iowa State**
Josh Jackson, Kansas
Mason III, Kansas**
Jawun Evans, Oklahoma State

All-Big 12 Second Team 

Nazareth Mitrou-Long, Iowa State
Devonte’ Graham, Kansas
Jeffrey Carroll, Oklahoma State
Vladimir Brodziansky, TCU
Jevon Carter, West Virginia

All-Big 12 Third Team

Manu Lecomte, Baylor
Deonte Burton, Iowa State
Wesley Iwundu, Kansas State
Jarrett Allen, Texas
Keenan Evans, Texas Tech
Nathan Adrian, West Virginia

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention: Ishmail Wainright (Baylor), Matt Thomas (Iowa State), Landen Lucas (Kansas), D.J. Johnson (Kansas State), Kameron McGusty (Oklahoma), Phil Forte (Oklahoma State), Jaylen Fisher (TCU), Kenrich Williams (TCU), Zach Smith (Texas Tech) All-Big 12 Defensive Team Jo Lual-Acuil, Baylor Ishmail Wainright, Baylor Vladimir Brodziansky, TCU Nathan Adrian, West Virginia Jevon Carter, West Virginia

All-Big 12 Newcomer Team
Manu Lecomte, Baylor
Jo Lual-Acuil, Baylor
Josh Jackson, Kansas**
Kameron McGusty, Oklahoma
Alex Robinson, TCU
Jarrett Allen, Texas**

** - Unanimous Selection

Ties in the voting created additional spots on the All-Big 12 Third Team and Big 12 All-Newcomer Teams

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories