West Virginia Long Snapper Nick Meadows Wins Tommy Nickolich Award

MORGANTOWN, W. Va. - The Blue & Gold News is pleased to announce Nick Meadows as this year's winner of the Tommy Nickolich Award, presented to a walk-on of distinction in the West Virginia football program.

Nick Meadows  is the 27th winner of the award, which was established in memory of Tommy Nickolich, a Fairmont, W. Va., native who was a walk-on at WVU before passing away from cancer prior to his junior season in 1983. Established in 1991, the winner is selected by the coaching staff and presented by the Blue and Gold News to the walk-on who has distinguished himself through his attitude and work ethic.

A redshirt senior, Meadows is an member of the All-Big 12 Academic team, the Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll, and West Virginia's Garrett Ford Academic Honor Roll. Entering his second season as WVU's starting snapper, he handled every snap last year, and also got game action in 2015 against Liberty and Maryland. He was the Mountaineers' special teams champion in the win over BYU, duplicating that honor from the 2015 game against the Flames. He performed flawlessly in that role last year, without an errant snap on any of WVU's punts, field goals and extra points.

Nickolich received the award from head coach Dana Holgorsen prior to the spring game. A four-year member of the football team, Meadows has seen action over the last three seasons and was the starting long snapper during the 2016 year. He is majoring in sport and exercise psychology. 


1991 Keith Taparausky RB
1992 Ray Wilcox LB
1993 Matt McCulty WR
1994 Randy Fulmore DB
1995 Rob Keys DB
1996 Matt Ceresa OL
1997 David Lightcap DB
1998 Mark Corman TE
1999 Bryan Lorenz TE
2000 Ben Collins DB
2001 Jeremy Knapp TE
2002 Moe Fofana FB
2003 John Pennington WR
2004 Jeff Noechel LB
2005 George Shehl DB
2006 Tim Lindsey LS
2007 Andy Emery LB
2008 Adam Hughes LS
2009 Josh Taylor DL
2010 Matt Lindamood FB
2011 Ryan Nehlen WR
2012 Tyler Anderson LB
2013 Connor Arlia WR
2014 Mike Calicchio OL
2015 Justin Arndt LB
2016 Jon Lewis LB

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories