Football Awards Presented

The WVU football program presented their awards at the football banquet Friday night at the Puskar Center.

The Ira Rodgers Award (all-around excellence)went to free safety Brian King and running back Quincy Wilson. King is a three-year starter in the secondary at corner and safety and was voted a 2003 team captain.

"Brian has been the leader of the secondary for three years and he makes the big play when we most need it," head coach Rich Rodriguez said.

Wilson rushed for 1,331 yards and 12 touchdowns, placing him 11th in the nation this year. He had a career best 208 yards and four rtouchdowns in the win over Pitt, tying Mountaineer Field records. He also was voted 2003 team captain.

"Quincy established himself as one of the best backs in the nation and a dominant player as a senior."

The John Russell Award for outstanding lineman went to Grant Wiley. Wiley was a four-year starter at linebacker and also a 2003 team captain. He led the nation in forced fumbles with seven and was second in tackles per game (13.2)

"Grant's a tremendous competitor and one of the most instinctive players ever."

The Whitey Gwynne Award for unsung heroes was presented to Lance Frazier and Moe Fofana. He recorded 61 tackles, five interceptions, 13 pass breakups and four forced fumbles on the season. He would also be second in the nation in punt return average (23.5) with two more attempts. Frzier was the fourth 2003 team captain selected.

"Lance has been one of our heroes on defense and special teams, and one of the best punt returners in the nation."

Fofana was a participant on every special team and a three-year letterman.

"One of the most unselfish players around, and the dominant blocking fullback in the BIG EAST."

The Gridiron Gladiator Award for on-field intensity went to Jeff Berk. He was the only offensive lineman who started every game this season. manning two positions.

"Jeff is very tough mentally and physically and was strong as our most experienced lineman."

The Scott Shirley Award for special teams excellence was earned by punter Todd James. James had 10 punts of 50 yards or more, and placed 16 punts inside the 20-yard line.

"Todd did an outstanding job of punting the football and being a leader for our special teams."

Rasheed Marshall, John Pennington, Adam Lehnortt and Ben Lynch earned Ideal Mountaineer Man honors.

"Rasheed is a great competitor and leader for us on and off the field. John is a true coach's player. He did everything we asked and more. Adam became a leader on our defense and one of the best conditioned athletes on our team. And Ben was a first-year starter who played above and beyond expectations"

The Danny Van Etten Award for scout team players of the year went to offensive lineman Zac Napier, wide receiver Eddie Jackson,defensive lineman Andrae Wright, defensive back Larry Williams and linebacker Justin Knapp.

The Coaches Contribution Awards went to James Woodruff and Scott Gyroko.

"Woody is a leader on our special team, as well a leader off the field. Scott was outstanding on special teams and had a good year at linebacker. He's so dependable."

The most valuable players were Quincy Wilson and Grant Wiley.

BlueGoldNews Top Stories