Wiley, Bulger Win Schaus Award

Football captain Grant Wiley and women's basketball captain Kate Bulger have won the 2004 Fred Schaus Captain's Award, which is presented annually to West Virginia University's most outstanding varsity team captain.

This year marks the third time in the award's history that a tie occurred in the voting. The winner must display outstanding sportsmanship and leadership while representing WVU well in all aspects. The winners are selected by the WVU Athletic Council.

Wiley, a four-year letterman from Trappe, Penn., was a four-year starting linebacker for the Mountaineers. A unanimous first-team all-Big East selection, he was a consensus first team All-America from FWAA, Sporting News, Associated Press, Si.com, CSTV and Souther FB Weekley. Wiley led the naiton in forced fumbles (7), was third in tackles per game (12.85) and 11th in solo tackles (7.6). Wiley, who graduated last May with a degree in economics, recently signed a free agent contract with the Minnesota VIkings.

Bulger, a four-year starter from Pittsburgh, finished her career fourht all-time in WVU caree scoring with 1,732 points. She is WVU's all-time career three-point filed goals made leader (301) and WVU's caree three-point percentage leader (41.6%). Bulger, who started every game of her career (115) led WVU in scoring in each of her four years and earned numerous awards form the Big East conference. For her career, she averaged 15.0 points per game with career totals of 456 rebounds, 196 assists and 3,047 minutes played. Bulger, who is majoring in communications, was drafted by the Minnesota Lynx in the third round of the WNBA draft, becoming the first women's basketball player drafted in school history.

The Captain's Award was strted to honor the retirement of Fred Schaus, who had outstanding success as a Mountaineer basketball player, coach and athletic director.


1989 Herbie Brooks Basketball

1990 Tammie De Angelis Rifle

1991 Aileen Convery Swimming

1992 Ann-Marie Pfiffner Rifle

1993 Garett Smith Rifle

1994 Dean Morrison Wrestling

1995 Jean Foster Rifle

1996 Sandy Shumate Voleyball
1996 Seldon Jefferson Basketball

1997 Charles Emanuel Football

1998 Marcos Scrivner Rifle

1999 Shawn Foreman Football

2000 Jessica Nonnemacher Gymnastics

2001 Katie Barnes Soccer

2002 Kyle Kayden Football

2003 Avon Cobourne Football
2003 Merissa Sexsmith Track

BlueGoldNews Top Stories