Jones, Abbott Share Red Brown Cup

Wrestling junior Greg Jones and women's soccer senior Chrissie Abbott have won the 2004 Red Brown Cup, presented annually to West Virginia University's most outstanding all-around student-athlete, in terms of athletic, academic and civic achievement.

This year marks the fourth time that a tie occurred in the voting. Winners are selected by the WVU Athletic Council.

Jones, a three-year letterman from Slickville, Pa., recently completed his junior season with a 26-0 record, the first undefeated season in school history, on the way to his second national championship. A three-time EWL champion, he has been twice named EWL Wrestler of the Year, two-time EWL Wrestler of the Week in 2004 and 2004 EWL points champion. Sporting a career record of 101-4, Jones was a finalist for the Hodge Trophy, given annually to the nation's top wrestler. The sport behavior major has numerous academic honors: Athletic Director's Academic Honor Roll, EWL All-Academic team and NWCA Academic All-American nominee. Jones has been active in Special Olympics and spoke at the opening ceremonies of the 2002 West Virginia Special Olympics in Morgantown.

Abbott, a four-year letterwinner from North Olmsted, Ohio, is a two-time SoccerBuzz and NSCAA All-American. During her career, she was named 2002 BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Year, 2002 Soccer America College MVP, 2002-03 SoccerBuzz Player of the Year finalist, 2003 Herman Trophy candidate and 2003 BIG EAST preseason Offensive Player of the Year. Abbott has set school records in season goals (20), season points (47), season shots (159), career goals (53), career points (125), career shots (472) and career matches played and started (87). The secondary education/math major is a member of the Athletic Director's Academic Honor Roll and a BIG EAST Academic All-Star. Abbott has been active in the Soccer School of Excellence, Read Across America, Adopt-a-Street and Breast Cancer Awareness.

The award is in memory of Robert "Red" Brown, former WVU coach and athletic director.


1988 Jim Bishop, rifle

1989 Tracey Thompson, volleyball

1990 Don DeCarlo, track

1991 Scott Collins, wrestling

1992 Rosemary Kosiorek, basketball

1993 Mike Compton, football

1994 Rich Braham, football
1994 Lajuanda Moody, gymnastics

1995 Bob Donker, track

1996 Lisa Szymczak, basketball
1996 Kristen Quackenbush, gymnastics

1997 Kristen Quackenbush, gymnastics

1998 Charity Wachera, track

1999 Eric deGroh, football
1999 Rebecca Burbridge, basketball

2000 Greg Robinette, football

2001 Steve Bohan, track

2002 Krista Smith, volleyball

2003 Amanda Halovanic, gymnastics

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories