Football Award Winners Named

West Virginia University quarterback Rasheed Marshall was named Most Valuable Player by a vote of his teammates at the football awards banquet tonight at the WVU Mountainlair. Marshall, the Big East offensive player of the year, was also voted a team captain, along with Ben Lynch, Adam Lehnortt and Jerry White.

A number of other players were honored at the evening, which included dinner and remarks from WVU coaches.

Scott Gyorko and Jeff Berk won the Ira E. Rodgers Award, which honors high leadership and academic qualities as well as football performance, while Tim Brown and Ben Lynch won the John Russell Award, which goes to the lineman who has displayed the best spirit and leadership on the team.

A pair of hard hitters, Dan Mozes and Adam Jones, took home the Gridiron Gladiator Award, which goes to the player showing the best dedication, hard work and desire.

The Whitey Gwynne Award, which goes to those players whose attitude, effort and spirit made an unsung contribution to the team, went to Garin Justice and Jerry White, while the Scott Shirley Award for special teams player of the year was awarded to Scott Fleming.

Seniors weren't the only ones bringing home the hardware. The Danny Van Etten Award, which goes to the outstanding scout team members, was earned by offensive lineman Ryan Stanchek and linebacker Mortty Ivy.

Two more awards went to a group of seniors who demonstrate the all-around qualities of the prototypical member of the West Virginia program. Charles Hales, John Pennington, Mike Lorello and Anthony Mims were named the recipients of the Ideal Mountaineer Man Award, which honors those players showing positive attitude, solid academic standing, outstanding leadership, perseverance on the field, outstanding athletic achievement and good sportsmanship, while Marshall, Charles Hales, Adam Lehnortt and Marc Magro earned the Coaches' Contribution Award.

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories