Marshall, Kane Win Captain's Awards

Football captain Rasheed Marshall and women's soccer captain Laura Kane have won the 2005 Fred Schaus Captain's Award, presented annually to West Virginia University's most outstanding varsity team captain. This year marks the fourth time that a tie occurred in the voting.

The winner must display outstanding sportsmanship and leadership, representing WVU well in all aspects. Winners are selected by the WVU Athletic Council.

Marshall, a four-year letterman from Pittsburgh, was a three-year starting quarterback for the Mountaineers. He was the 2004 Big East offensive player of the year, set the Big East quarterback rushing record (2,040 yards) and holds the WVU record for career touchdowns responsible for (68). Marshall, a member of the Athletic Director's Academic Honor Roll who graduated last May with a degree in athletic coaching education, was recently picked in the fifth round of the NFL draft by the San Francisco 49ers.

Kane, a four-year starter from Pottstown, Pa., finished third in career goals, assists and points at WVU. She was a 2004 NSCAA All-American, a two-time NSCAA all-region player and a two-time SoccerBuzz all-region player. Kane was a NSCAA Scholar All-American (2003, 2004), a first team CoSIDA academic all-district (2002, 2004), a member of the Athletic Director's Academic Honor Roll and Big East academic all-star. She will graduate this May with a degree in physical education teaching.

The award was started to honor the retirement of Fred Schaus, who had outstanding success as a Mountaineer basketball player, coach and athletic director. Past winners of the Fred Schaus Captain's Award: Herbie Brooks, basketball (1989); Tammie DeAngelis, rifle (1990); Aileen Convery, swimming (1991); Ann-Marie Pfiffner, rifle (1992); Garett Smith, rifle (1993); Dean Morrison, wrestling (1994); Jean Foster, rifle (1995); Seldon Jefferson, basketball (1996); Sandy Shumate, volleyball (1996); Charles Emanuel, football (1997); Marcos Scrivner, rifle (1998); Shawn Foreman, football (1999); Jessica Nonnemacher, gymnastics (2000); Katie Barnes, soccer (2001); Kyle Kayden, football (2002); Avon Cobourne, football (2003); Merissa Sexsmith, cross country/track (2003); Grant Wiley, football (2004); Kate Bulger, basketball (2004).

BlueGoldNews Top Stories