Lindsey Earns Nickolich Award

The Blue & Gold News takes great pride in awarding the Tommy Nickolich award each spring to the walk-on member of the Mountaineer football team who has distinguished himself with his attitude and effort.

The award is presented in the memory of Tommy Nickolich, a native of Fairmont, W.Va., and a former walk-on for West Virginia (1980-82) who died of cancer in 1983. The winner is selected each spring by the Mountaineer coaching staff.

For the second consecutive year, the winner is a Mountain State native who has made his mark on West Virginia's special teams. In 2005, Clarksburg native George Shehl earned the honor, and this year Bridgeport's Tim Lindsey, WVU's long snapper for the past two seasons, has earned our highest award.

1991 Keith Taparausky RB
1992 Ray Wilcox LB
1993 Matt McCulty WR
1994 Randy Fulmore DB
1995 Rob Keys DB
1996 Matt Ceresa OL
1997 David Lightcap DB
1998 Mark Corman TE
1999 Bryan Lorenz TE
2000 Ben Collins DB
2001 Jeremy Knapp TE
2002 Moe Fofana FB
2003 John Pennington WR
2004 Jeff Noechel LB
2005 George Shehl H

BlueGoldNews Top Stories