Parade of Honors Continues

West Virginia continued its parade of players on preseason watch lists with the announcement of the preseason Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik rolls on Tuesday. The awards honor the Collegiate Player of the Year and the Outstanding Defensive Player of the year, respectively.

Two Mountaineers, quaterback Patrick White and running back Steve Slaton, made the list for the Maxwell Award, while linebacker Kevin McLee is on the list of the Bednarik Award. Both awards are presented by the Maxwell Football Club.

Each list includes a field of sixty candidates for each of these awards as selected by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee. Additions and subtractions to the lists, based on player performance, will be made through out the 2006 football season.

Players selected to these initial watch lists have distinguished themselves as All Conference or All American selections from their respective universities in past years. Underclassmen are selected based on recommendations from the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.

Twelve semi-finalists for each award will be announced in October 2005 and the field will be trimmed to three finalists in November 2005. The winners of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN in December 2006. The formal presentation of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will take place at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Banquet in March 2007.

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories