WVU Retains Lambert Stranglehold

West Virginia garnered all six first place votes to lead the latest balloting for the Lambert Trophy, which recognizes supremacy in eastern college football.

West Virginia (6)7-060
Boston College6-135
Penn State5-332
South Florida5-315

The ECAC will conduct a weekly poll for the trophy, with the final poll distributed in early January will determine the trophy winners. The teams will be presented with their awards at the Eastern College Football Awards Banquet at the Pegasus Restaurant at the Meadowlands Sports Complex.

Established in 1936 as the "Lambert Trophy" to recognize supremacy in eastern college football, the award has since grown to recognize the best team in the East in Divisions I-A. The Lambert Cup will be awarded to Divisions I-AA, II and III teams.

To be eligible for the Lambert Meadowlands Award, a school must be located in the East or play half of its schedule against eligible Lambert teams. The territory includes New York, New Jersey, New England and Pennsylvania while teams in the bordering states of Delaware, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia and the District of Columbia qualify if half of their schedule features eligible teams.

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories