Cobourne on Watch List

Senior running back Avon Cobourne is one of only two big East running backs on the preseason Doak Walker Award watch list.

The Doak Walker Award, awarded annually to the nation's top college running back, features Cobourne and Tanardo Sharps of Temple among the 42 candidates on the preseason list announced by the SMU Athletic Forum.

The SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select eight semifinalists on November 19, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will vote on the winner in late November. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, print and electronic media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2002 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN's Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 12, 2002. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at The Fairmont Hotel in Dallas, Texas, on Tuesday, January 28, 2003.

Previously, offensive tackle Lance Nimmo and nose tackle David Upchurch were named to the Outland Trophy preseason watch list. The Outland Trophy is presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) to the top interior lineman in college football each season.

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories