Football Honorees Announced

West Virginia announced its 2006 season football award winners at its team banquet on Sunday.

Patrick White and Steve Slaton were named the Most Valuable Players.

Other award winners for the No. 10 Mountaineers included:

IRA ERRETT RODGERS AWARD: Jay Henry and Tim Lindsey

The Ira E. Rodgers Award, initiated by the late Pittsburgh sportscaster Bob Prince, is a tribute to one of WVU's greatest all-time football players. The award is presented to the Mountaineer player who has "shown high leadership and academic qualities as well as football performance."


The parents of former West Virginia tackle John Russell, who died in an automobile accident during his junior year, provide the annual award to the lineman who has demonstrated the "best spirit and leadership on the team."

GRIDIRON GLADIATOR: Jeremy Sheffey, Boo McLee, Marc Magro and Ryan Stanchek

The Gridiron Gladiator Award is presented annually to the football player who exemplifies the dedication, hard work and desire set forth by the WVU coaching staff.

IDEAL MOUNTAINEER MAN: Travis McClintic, Reed Williams and Brandon Myles

The Ideal Mountaineer exhibits the characteristics expected of a West Virginia football player -- a positive attitude, solid academic standing, outstanding leadership, perseverance on the field, outstanding athletic achievement and good citizenship.

WHITEY GWYNNE AWARD: Owen Schmitt and Warren Young

The A.C. (Whitey) Gwynne Award, named in honor of the late WVU athletic trainer, is bestowed upon the player whose attitude, effort and spirit provide an outstanding unsung contribution to the success of the team.

DANNY VAN ETTEN AWARD: Sam Morrone, Markell Harrison and Tommy Spurlock (offense); J.T. Thomas, Marcus Law, Anthony Leonard and Scooter Berry (defense); Michael Poitier (special teams)

This rookie of the year award was renamed in 1997 for Danny Van Etten, a promising freshman offensive lineman, who was killed in an automobile accident that year. It is presented annually by the coaching staff to the most outstanding players on WVU's scout teams.


The award is presented to the special teams player of the year in memory of Coach Scott Shirley, who passed away unexpectedly in 1989.

COACHES CONTRIBUTION AWARD: Jason Colson, Brad Palmer, Justin Knapp, Rayshawn Bolden, Vaughn Rivers and Eric Wicks

TEAMMATE AWARD: Eric Rodemoyer

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories