Playboy Honor

In the first of what is expected to be numerous pre-season honors, West Virginia running back Steve Slaton has been named to the 2007 Playboy All-America Team.

Slaton will attend the gathering for that team May 11-13 in Phoenix, Ariz.

"I'm very excited to receive this honor," says Slaton, who is home in Levittown, Pa., on semester break. "I am looking forward to the trip to Phoenix and seeing some of the players I met at the All-America functions last winter in Florida and Connecticut.

"I can't believe that the spring semester is just over and already honors are coming out for next season. I can't wait for the season to get here."

A consensus All-America selection as a sophomore, Slaton was a Doak Walker Award finalist and finished fourth in balloting for the Heisman Trophy. He earned all-BIG EAST honors as a freshman and sophomore and shared WVU MVP honors last season with Patrick White.

Previous Mountaineers on the Playboy team include Carl Crennel (1969), Paul Woodside (1983), Brian Jozwiak (1985), Major Harris (1989), Mike Compton (1992), Aaron Beasley (1995) and Dan Mozes (2006). Don Nehlen was the coach of the year for 1989; Eric deGroh (1998) and Jay Henry (2006) were previous Anson Mount Scholar-Athlete winners.

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories