Schaus Awards Bestowed

Track captain Jessica Czaikowski and football captain Dan Mozes have won the 2007 Fred Schaus Captain's Award, presented annually to West Virginia University's most outstanding varsity team captain.

The winner must display outstanding sportsmanship and leadership, representing WVU well in all aspects. Winners are selected by the WVU Athletic Council.

Czaikowski, a two-year captain from Tottenham, Ontario, won the 60 meter hurdles at the 2007 ECAC indoor track championship. She also took second place in the 100 meter hurdles at the 2007 Big East outdoor track championship and captured second-place honors in the 60 meter hurdles at the 2007 Big East indoor track championship. Czaikowski was a Big East champion in the 100 meter hurdles at the 2006 Big East outdoor track championship. A Big East Academic All-Star, Athletic Director's Academic Honor Roll selection and a member of the 2006-07 Big East/Aeropostale Scholar-Athlete list, Czaikowski is pursuing a master's degree in elementary education.

Mozes, a starter on four New Year's bowl teams from Washington, Pa., earned consensus All-America honors in 2006. He was the 2006 Rimington Trophy winner, an Outland Trophy finalist, Lombardi Award semifinalist, three-time first team all-Big East selection and participated in the Senior Bowl. Mozes was a part of the winningest senior class in WVU history that finished with a 38-12 record during his career. A member of the Athletic Director's Academic Honor Roll and Big East Academic All-Star who earned second team Academic All-America honors, Mozes graduated last December with a degree in communications.

The award was started to honor the retirement of Fred Schaus, who had outstanding success as a Mountaineer basketball player, coach and athletic director.

Past winners of the Fred Schaus Captain's Award: Herbie Brooks, basketball (1989); Tammie DeAngelis, rifle (1990); Aileen Convery, swimming (1991); Ann-Marie Pfiffner, rifle (1992); Garett Smith, rifle (1993); Dean Morrison, wrestling (1994); Jean Foster, rifle (1995); Seldon Jefferson, basketball (1996); Sandy Shumate, volleyball (1996); Charles Emanuel, football (1997); Marcos Scrivner, rifle (1998); Shawn Foreman, football (1999); Jessica Nonnemacher, gymnastics (2000); Katie Barnes, soccer (2001); Kyle Kayden, football (2002); Avon Cobourne, football (2003); Merissa Sexsmith, cross country/track (2003); Grant Wiley, football (2004); Kate Bulger, basketball (2004); Rasheed Marshall, football (2005); Laura Kane, soccer (2005); J.D. Collins, basketball (2006); Susan Davis, cross country/track (2006).

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories