Big East Basketball Pairings Announced

Although they don't know the when, West Virginia now knows the wheres and whos of its 2008-09 men's basketball schedule.

In the second year of the 18-game conference schedule, all league teams will play each other once. That leaves three "repeat" games, which are determined, according to the Big East conference, on "natural interest, geography, rivalries, television contractual obligations and competitive balance."

West Virginia looks to have covered all of those areas with Pitt, Louisville and South Florida filling the home and home spots on the WVU slate.

West Virginia will host Connecticut, DePaul, Notre Dame, Providence, St. John's and Villanova, while travelling to Cincinnati, Georgetown,Marquette, Rutgers, Seton Hall and Syracuse.

In 2008-09, the Big East will once again play an 18-game conference schedule, allowing teams to face each opponent once and three teams twice. It will mark the second year of the 18-game schedule, which began for the 2007-08 season. All 144 regular-season conference games will once again be televised, either by CBS Sports, the ESPN family of networks or ESPN Regional Television.

In the first year of the 18-game conference schedule, the Big East tied its own NCAA record by placing eight schools into the NCAA tournament. At least one preseason ranking for 2008-09, lists three Big East teams among the national top five, five among the top 15 and seven among the top 25.

Dates and times for games will be announced in September.

WVU Basketball Schedule

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories