White on All-American Watch List

Patrick White just wrapped up his final preseason football camp at West Virginia, but it was a different kind of Camp that had his attention on Monday.

That's when the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced that White, along with 34 other players was on its watch list for the Player of the Year award, the nation's fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.

Five players on the 2008 watch list – Ohio State LB James Laurinaitis, Florida QB Tim Tebow, Texas Tech WR Michael Crabtree, Wisconsin TE Travis Beckum and South Florida DE George Selvie – were named to last year's Walter Camp All-America First Team.

White is joined by Selvie, Pitt running back LeSean McCoy and Pitt linebacker Scott McKillop on the list.

The watch list will be narrowed to 15 semi-finalists in early November. The 2008 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 119 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on January 10, 2009 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories